Newbie Here Bank holiday balcony adventures with a 35cm camping dish

astra19

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
98cm motorised technomate. 50e to 34.5w
My Location
Europe
Hi all,

It's been a while since I've been active on here. My last saga was about a flat dish that didn't work, that I eventually replaced with a normal parabolic antenna that worked perfectly (with the help of this forum!). However, the overzealous housing association in my building forced me to remove the dish even though it wasn't visible to anybody but myself and the wider world who decided to look above the trees to the fourth floor... Anyway, in another development we moved back to the UK (the NIMBYness of the Netherlands formed a part of this decision!).

Our flat is on a high floor with a reasonably clear view south, so I decided this bank holiday to treat myself in lockdown by getting a satellite dish. I'd sold the Dutch one before we moved, and being burned in the past by complaints I knew I couldn't get a permanent solution. So I decided to see what I could grab from my little balcony using a camping dish. I ordered a German-branded 35cm dish from freetv.ie. It arrived within a couple of days and after the strong winds of Saturday died down, I decided to spend the afternoon doing some hunting.

There were a couple of options. I have a south-facing window so I was curious if the glass would allow the signal through. Unsurprisingly it didn't as I think it's treated. I have a very narrow balcony which allows a little garden table, so I decided to use the suction cup on the dish to 'mount' the dish on the table. I was curious to see if the metal pole or the glass on the barrier would affect the signal too much, but it didn't seem to be a problem.