Box Key Converter

Discussion in 'Dreambox Support Forum' started by B16MCC, May 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    Dunno if this will prove to be of any use, but I just knocked it up in case it helps out.

    Enter the Serial of your sly box and it will give you a hex box key to enter into CCcam / NewCS .

    [​IMG]

    Please test it and let me know if its right. I'm at work and don't have a serial number to check.

    Attached Files:

  2. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    Here's v1.1 guys.

    Change Log:-


    • Fixed a bug to ensure a preceding zero is inserted where needed in BoxKey1

    • Added BoxKey2 which is a straight conversion of the serial as apose to a byte by byte conversion in BoxKey1.

    Attached Files:

  3. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    Ok guys, its been made public the method of converting the box key for the new white sly cards. Hence, I've made the appropriate changes to my Box Key Converter. This should now generate the correct box key for use with NewCS.
    It will display the line you need to enter into your newcs.xml so you can simply copy and paste it. Enjoy...

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  4. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    UPDATE:-

    It seems the sly box serial number doesn't always start 00, therefore I'll need to make a change to the Box Key Converter. Since the hex conversion is done by firstly removing the first 2 characters from the serial number, boxes that are not 00xxxxxxx will create an incorrect box key.

    Expect v1.3 tomorrow.
  5. kalehrl

    kalehrl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox 500+;
    Echostar 770 (Strong 6155);
    90cm Triax dish;
    Strong DM2100 diseqc motor.
    My Location:
    Serbia
    You can try this little tool.
    The author claims it will work with sly uk, sly it and total tv.
    Then you can compare the resulting box keys and see if they match.

    _http://boxkey.110mb.com/
  6. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    UPDATE:-

    Version 1.3

    Change Log.

    1. Fixed bug where serial number doesn't start 00.
    2. Cosmetic changes to GUI.
    3. Generate box key from serial number in menu (11 Characters) or from sticker on bottom of box (17 Characters)

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  7. khcon

    khcon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    na
    My Location:
    na
    If I understand this correctly, the boxkey should be 8 characters. My hex converted serial is 8 characters long without a leading zero yet your program adds one making it 9 characters. Is this on purpose?
  8. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    Ok mate thanks for pointing it out. Have you actually got the card working with your box key ?
    If so then please let me know and I will make a change and release v1.4.
    At the moment a leading zero is always added.
  9. khcon

    khcon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    na
    My Location:
    na
    Give me a few hours, my card is supposed to arrive today...


    UPDATE: it does work with the 8 character hex number, no leading zero. I didn't try adding 1 or 2 leading zeros.
  10. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    Thanks for the update. Let me get this straight, you entered your box serial number and the converter gave you a 9 digit boxkey starting with a 0. You then entered this number without the leading zero and it worked ?

    Is that correct ?
  11. khcon

    khcon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    na
    My Location:
    na
    Not quite, I used the regular Windows calculator to get the hex value (which was 8 characters no leading zero) and then (just for the fun of it, and to see if there was some kind of little / big Endian thing going on) I used your program to compare. It created the 9 character hex code that had the leading zero but was identical otherwise.

    KH
  12. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    ok mate thanks for the info. Expect version 1.4 later today which will only add a leading zero when the result is 7 characters.
  13. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    UPDATE:- Box Key Converter v1.4.0

    Fixed a bug for when the serial number converts to 8 digits, the leading zero is not inserted.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  14. sirsmilealot

    sirsmilealot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox dm600
    My Location:
    UK
    Hello,

    Firstly, cracking little program - makes the job easier! I'm having a bit of trouble however, generating a Box Key using the Serial No. from an ancient Digibox (rumoured to have been used by Julius Caesar himself).

    The serial is 0003814858 (for some reason only 10 chars long) which, using your program, generates 03A35CA as the Box Key. I've tried entering this into my newcs.xml config but with no success - still cannot view Premium channels.

    Hopefully you can shine some light on the matter! :-worship

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,

    Paul.
  15. sirsmilealot

    sirsmilealot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox dm600
    My Location:
    UK
    Hello again,

    As a continuation to my message before, the 17 char serial number from the bottom of the box is as follows:

    9F020A00038148586

    This, in comparison to the serial number shown in the digibox menu, has an extra 6 added to the end. Needless to say however, despite using the converter, I am still getting the same Box Key. Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    Paul.
  16. B16MCC

    B16MCC Dreambox Gimp & Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2 Dreamboxes..........
    ---------------------------------------------
    --- DM 8000 HD PVR & DM 800 HD ---
    Motek SG2100 & Triax 80cm Dual LNB
    ------ Fixed Dish 28e Quad LNB -------
    ---- Sly HD Full & 24" Apple iMAC ----
    My Location:
    /var/tuxbox/config
    ok mate thanks for pointing it out. Have you tried taking the 7 digit box key and adding another 0 to it, to make it 00 3A 35 CA

    If not please try it and let me know.
  17. sirsmilealot

    sirsmilealot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox dm600
    My Location:
    UK
    Hello,

    Thanks for your reply! I'm afraid yes I have tried that but still no joy. Just my luck to have a bloody awkard serial number haha!

    If you need any info I'll do my best to find it.

    Cheers,

    Paul.
  18. sonic1

    sonic1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    Vu + Ultimo - Uno - Duo - Solo Black Hole - 1.7.1 , 98cm Funkee , 28E-19E-16E-13E-9E
    My Location:
    Black Hole Team
    You take the full 17 digit serial from the bottom of the box and use this tool you will have our box key

    Code:
    _http://boxkey.110mb.com/
    I have taken this from another board but I am unable to test.

    Please let us know if it helps
  19. sirsmilealot

    sirsmilealot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox dm600
    My Location:
    UK
    Thanks - though unfortunately I have already tried this site and it simply does not give an output. Strange!
  20. sonic1

    sonic1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    Vu + Ultimo - Uno - Duo - Solo Black Hole - 1.7.1 , 98cm Funkee , 28E-19E-16E-13E-9E
    My Location:
    Black Hole Team
    Have you tried getting the id from your old blue card ?

    Start CCcam with telnet followed by -d

    This should show you you box id.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page