F-connectors: What type you fancy?

A

archive10

I've been using twist-on F-connectors for 7 years now.
Midway I realised you could not only get tools to help the twisting, but also ones with wide hexagonal ring greatly reducing finger pain.
So I got the tools, and try as much as possible to get the wide-hex-ring versions.
(I also read somewhere that the hex-ring was only ever intended for fingering - still don't quite understand how that works out!)

Recently, I've acquired a compression toolkit - and I find it so much better for finishing the cable ends.
There's no finger pain, the screw-on action is so much better (i.e. not there), you can even get water-proof versions etc.

...but what're yer pros and cons?
Do you still swear by twist-ons, and if so, why?
Alternatively, do you use the crimp-technology?
Or do you use the latest waterprrof compression tools to get the best result? And do you still tape them up just to be safe?

(Whichever, you're almost guaranteed to going to make more cable ends that you thought!)

Looking forward to your thoughts...

Riverblue

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Near Brighton
I've been using these since I got into this hobby, no nonsense, no fuss, no problems (as yet!) :)

Untitled.png

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
I use Cabelcon/ triax or Blake's compression. They are very good. All with intergral O-Ring.

Sent from my Galaxy using Tapatalk Pro

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire