1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lost some News Channels

Discussion in 'Freesat digital TV support forum' started by Christo Skelton, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. Christo Skelton

    Christo Skelton New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Freesat. Broadband via BT Infinity
    My Location:
    Tunbridge Wells, Kent
    For the past two days I have been unable to get the following channels on Freesat:

    204 euronews
    205 France 24
    206 RT Today
    208 Bloomberg
    209 NHK HD
    201 CNBC

    I can received 207 CNN and 211 CCTV.

    I watch NHK HD a lot and they do say that due the Spring and Autumn Equinoxes that the sun can interfere with reception.
    Is it possible that this is why I can't receive these channels or is it more likely that the dish has been slightly moved by the wind?

    Are these channels broadcasting from the same spectrum?
     
  2. Tivù

    Tivù Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,213
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    N.Yorks Moors
    The Sun effects are transient - a few minutes at a time over a period of a few days. Discount it.

    More likely that you have an issue with your kit.


    I'm just checking what the common parameters or the differences are that might allow us to home in on a diagnosis.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Tivù

    Tivù Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,213
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    N.Yorks Moors
    Ok, there's no clear issue with Band or Polarisation (which might suggest a duff LN:cool:.

    Also, they are all on strong wide-beams, albeit not from the same actual birds, so that doesn't allow us to conclude dish alignmnt might be wrong (though it could be).

    So ....................... can you tell us more details of your hardware: ie What Make/Model of Freesat Receiver you have, what size/type dish you have?
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Christo Skelton

    Christo Skelton New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Freesat. Broadband via BT Infinity
    My Location:
    Tunbridge Wells, Kent
    I'm using an EchoStar HDS-600RS and a large communal dish for 9 flats above my entrance way.
     
  5. Christo Skelton

    Christo Skelton New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Freesat. Broadband via BT Infinity
    My Location:
    Tunbridge Wells, Kent
    Now cannot get BBC 1 HD or BBC 2 HD either on 108 and 109 but can get BBC Alba on 110 but can't understand it.
     
  6. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    38,656
    Likes Received:
    2,140
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox 7020S,
    Skybox F3
    Echostar IP3000VA,
    Vu+ Duo (just horrible)
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Pull the plug out of the wall, wait 30 seconds & plug it in again. Allow the box to reboot then see if the channels have come back.
     
  7. Tivù

    Tivù Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,213
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    N.Yorks Moors
    The Freesat Channel Numbers don't really help - it's the actual frequency, polarisation, band and source Satellite that matter.

    ie As per http://www.flysat.com/28east.php

    Anyway, I suggest (If a reboot fails to clear the issue) the first thing to do is find a neighbour prepared to let you plug your box into their feed so you can see if the behaviour remains the same or if all is well.
     
  8. Christo Skelton

    Christo Skelton New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Freesat. Broadband via BT Infinity
    My Location:
    Tunbridge Wells, Kent

    The problem has been fixed. The dish had a LNB problem.

    Thanks for your suggestions.
    <div>
    </div>
     
  9. Tivù

    Tivù Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,213
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    N.Yorks Moors
    Excellent news - thanks for letting us know.
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors