Newbie Here Motorized dish setup question

hariskar

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini OP100L, Moteck SG 2100A, INVERTO BLACK Ultra Universal Single LNB 40mm 0,2dB
My Location
Kavala, Greece
I try to setup my motorized dish. First time I had signal from 2 satellites and yesterday after made some changes from 7 satellites.
I live in Greece, Kavala (40.9N, 24.4E).
These satellites are:
Eutelsat 10E
Hotbird 13E
Sirius 18E
Astra 19.2E
Eutelsat 21.6E
Nilesat 7W
... 8W

Is it the 1st case in the attached picture? So I have to turn the whole system to the right?

Thank you!

Attachments

• odigies.jpg
    odigies.jpg
    233.7 KB · Views: 77

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Hi hariskar,
welcome to the forum.
No you don't move your entire system, to track the arc, but adjust the brackets, to get the most from your dish/motor.

What size dish are you using?

The most important things, when setting up a motorized system, is first to ensure the pole is absolutely plumb.
When your motor is set to zero attach your dish then use your receiver, once you've input your latitude, and longitude, to send your dish to the satellite you wish to use to align it, preferably the one nearest your True South position, which in your case is 24.4E, your longitude reading.
This gives you the options of using 23.5E, 25.5E, or even 26E.
Once you have the strongest signal, from your chosen satellite, you send your dish to the furthese East satellite, you can receive, then the furthest West satellite, and make a note of the signal quality readings.
You then return the dish to the satellite you set it up on, make minor adjustments, to the bracket, and send it to the furthest East/West satellites again, to check if you have the strongest possible signal. from these satellites.