New to Spectrum Analyser Technology

washoris

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
4.2 meter prime focus with invacom lnb
My Location
cyprus
Dear all,

As you already know or maybe you know I'm new to the satellite community. I just got my satlink 6932 and I've been experimenting with the spectrum analyzer. I'd say it's the most helpful tool I've ever used to find a satellite. Can someone explain how co can make the most out of it? Is it better to have higher mountains or it's better when it's more evenly distributed?? Any tips when trying to find a new satellite?? Any tools I can use in order to find a satellite easier?? And faster? I'm a newbie and it takes too long until I find a new satellite. Thanks a lot!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
The higher the peaks, the better the signal, the smoother the curves at the top, the better the quality.

washoris

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
cyprus
Thanks a lot and what instruments do you use to find the azimuth??

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

washoris

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
cyprus
Also what does it mean when you have a signal of 13 db and some channels of the same provider for example i get 9 db on sky sport 3 hd but it says service not found! Sid not found in PAT.. But 9 db is acceptable i think.. Thanks

washoris

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
cyprus
Also satlink didn't come with nilesat on it and some satellites need update :/ how can i do it?? Sorry for the question,s are many..

rolfw

Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup