next new BskyB card arriving?

Discussion in 'Dreambox Support Forum' started by Big-Apple, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. Big-Apple

    Big-Apple Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Dm800
    1xDm7000
    My Location:
    CEE
    hi there i am not posting herre often i just heard that just after year and bit BskyB is prepairng to next cards change does any one heard what it will be? some caid? their point is to use those card only in their official sky boxes does it mean = CI+ cards only or stronger pairing? i got this news from non UK ppl which are subscribers i am also non Uk and using only freesat card coz they dont have pre paids @ all
     
  2. Topper

    Topper Amo Amas Amant Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    17,551
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    IDD CI24 ECONO MM Penta 1.20 Galaxy II
    1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 25 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancashire
    I really doubt that after such a short period of time on this latest card, what is your source?
    Hopefully you will not say 'someone at the pub last night'
     
  3. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    37,954
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox 7020S,
    Skybox F3
    Echostar IP3000VA,
    Vu+ Duo (just horrible)
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    There has been no news from any official source that Im aware of that theres another card swap coming.
     
  4. Rick

    Rick Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    Fibo 1.2m HH, Wavefield T90. AzBox HD Premium, Vu+ Duo
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancs
    Sky Italia are testing NDS4, they were the first to move to NDS3. Perhaps what you have heard concerns that rather than Sky UK
     
  5. 007.4

    007.4 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Satellite Setup:
    STBs = DM7025, AzBox HD Elite, Vu+Duo:
    Dishes = 180cm PF, 80cm offset, 60cm offset, Sky mini:
    LNBs c120 for PF dish = Invacom, Inverto white, White Smart Titanium (modified to c120)
    My Location:
    UK
    Sly UK are already on P4 (the new white card). They skipped P3 after using the P2 for such a long time.
     
  6. Rick

    Rick Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    Fibo 1.2m HH, Wavefield T90. AzBox HD Premium, Vu+ Duo
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancs
    No they're not. They are running on CAID 0963 which is NDS3. NDS4 has not completed testing yet and so has not been used at all on general release sub cards.
     
  7. 007.4

    007.4 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Satellite Setup:
    STBs = DM7025, AzBox HD Elite, Vu+Duo:
    Dishes = 180cm PF, 80cm offset, 60cm offset, Sky mini:
    LNBs c120 for PF dish = Invacom, Inverto white, White Smart Titanium (modified to c120)
    My Location:
    UK
    The card version is identified by the ROM version which can be read from the card using INS 02.

    The first digital card (CAID 0960) was ROM version 01 = P1
    The second card (CAID 0961) was ROM version 02 = P2
    The current card (CAID 0963) is ROM version 04 = P4

    You can see that CAID 0962 (rom version 03 = P3) has not been used.

    The "publically assigned names" such as NDS1, NDS3 etc. are irrelevent and misnomers.

    HTH
    Happy New Year to everyone!
    007.4
     
  8. Rick

    Rick Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    Fibo 1.2m HH, Wavefield T90. AzBox HD Premium, Vu+ Duo
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancs
    Each Rom is not a differant revision of an encryption. There's loads of differant rom's used on Kudelski's Nagravision 3, 2 examples being rom142 and rom180, they are still nag3. If they had released NDS4 in the UK already, they would not now be testing it in Italy, they would know it works and would only require a small test to ensure there were no complications with the very small differances between the UK and IT systems.
     
  9. 007.4

    007.4 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Satellite Setup:
    STBs = DM7025, AzBox HD Elite, Vu+Duo:
    Dishes = 180cm PF, 80cm offset, 60cm offset, Sky mini:
    LNBs c120 for PF dish = Invacom, Inverto white, White Smart Titanium (modified to c120)
    My Location:
    UK
    I did notsay it was.

    In the NDS case there are many subtle differences in card protocols between rom versions and between country versions.
    For example, you cannot equate Italy P2 with UK P2 - although they are similar (same INS B0, INS B3 etc) the supported INS list is different.

    It is a fact that Sky UK are now using P4 (their official terminology). Whether you want call that NDS3, NDS4 or anthing else - really does not matter.

    The question raised at the start of this thread is "when the next card version is to be released?"

    I have no idea, but as a substantial cost is involved I would not have thought soon. My point is, that it will be officially known as P5 (unless they skip another version). No doubt in the public domain it will be called something else. As the current version is known as "NDS3" , if the new camcrypt (card pairing algorithm) is substantially different from the current one, the new card will probably be called "NDS4"

    As I said before these labels "NDSx" are not really helpful. It is more accurate to refer to each card type by their actual rom version, P1, P2, P4 and qualify this by also stating the country, UK, IT etc.
     
  10. nano

    nano Psychotic Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, West Midlands
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox DM800 Se ,New Horizons Motor ,1m Gilbertini, Fracarro 0.2dB Twin lnb.

    Gigablue HD 800Se, Technomate TM800, Philips Bisat dish

    First Strike FS1 Meter, Rover DM16 Meter
    My Location:
    The not so Great Britain
    I can't see them doing a full card swap out in all honesty even if a new card was available.

    Theres no point due to the costs involved. If anything they will more than likely follow Sky Italias lead and jsut issue the newer cards to new subscribers or people who need replacements cards.

    The new Sky Italia version using caid 09cd can be shared anyway so i can't really see the point in all honesty of Sky UK changing to a newer encryption to stop CS if its already known that certain emus can already read and decode from that card.


    Nano
     
  11. fintannl

    fintannl Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Single Sat Dish and DM800
    My Location:
    Ireland
    thats a really interesting point. as things develop with sky italia the fundamental point is that the channels remain open. so maybe some users will be affected if one avenue gets closed down but the reality is that for total closure both channels would need to be cut
     
  12. pipino

    pipino Sat Freak

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2X Channel Master 1.20 , 1X Channel Master1.80 ,1X Channel Master 2.40, Motorized Gibertini OP150 , Motorized Fibo MF90 ,, 70cm eliptical raven ..hirschmann fibre glass 1.20m
    My Location:
    Comunidad Valenciana..ESPAÑA
    somehow i think card sharing help them in a way to have profite like last year ,with Digital+ in spain we think that card sharing boosted the full package subs (aroung 85€ per month) pack including HD , no way ppl would pay this money if there was no sharing specialy in this hard times ..its strange but real ..regards
     
  13. Big-Apple

    Big-Apple Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Dm800
    1xDm7000
    My Location:
    CEE
    sorry i didnt reported anything i simply forgot that i asked this question and u see same situtation what was in italy . Most ppl on sat scene didnt knew bout card change maybe is that due BskyB simply dont inform or it will be card change using same id wich i dont belive. Last time i was asking foreigner owner of Sky Italia but this was person with disabilities and he was experienced mosc card he was watching primafilas using Dragon Cam but never mind till i see updated on mine card i will be calm


    last question to this from me do u know +- time when subscription is coming ? is that 3rd week of each month or earlier /sooner?
     
  14. nano

    nano Psychotic Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, West Midlands
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox DM800 Se ,New Horizons Motor ,1m Gilbertini, Fracarro 0.2dB Twin lnb.

    Gigablue HD 800Se, Technomate TM800, Philips Bisat dish

    First Strike FS1 Meter, Rover DM16 Meter
    My Location:
    The not so Great Britain
    Blimey he must have been going back to the days when Sky Italia were using SECA as an encryption method before they switched over to NDS :D
     
  15. shumifan50

    shumifan50 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    2xDM7025(DVB-S tuner), DM600SPVR, DM800S, DM500S HD, Triax 90cm with MultiBracket 4 sats.
    My Location:
    Europe
    I had a phone call from Sky (not quite sure it was them) confirming some details like box type 'because they are sending out a new card'.
    We will see what happens.
     
  16. andel

    andel Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM800, DM600, Technomate Diseqc Motor, 90cm Dish
    Panasonic 42" Plasma 1080p
    Pioneer VSX-LX70 Amp
    Sky HD
    B & W 5.1 Speaker Setup
    Popcornhour Media center
    Xbox 360
    My Location:
    Watching T.V in the UK
    what was their reason for sending out a new card?...was it just because they are?
     
  17. Big-Apple

    Big-Apple Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Dm800
    1xDm7000
    My Location:
    CEE
    u know exaclty that mr Kangaroo hates dreamboxes and all linux devices and he will do everything to stop splitting and using those cards outside shitty skybox but he loose in italian court with exclusivnes of their receivers so italians can use own boxes.
     
  18. Tivù

    Tivù Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16,567
    Likes Received:
    1,891
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    N.Yorks Moors
    Mr. Kangaroo !!

    I quite like that.
     
  19. Big-Apple

    Big-Apple Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Dm800
    1xDm7000
    My Location:
    CEE
    so i wana ask bout something i have @ home old s+++ty sky box its SD box only but its without card so is there anyway to connect this box to some new card or only way is throw this box out of window ?:)
     
  20. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    37,954
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox 7020S,
    Skybox F3
    Echostar IP3000VA,
    Vu+ Duo (just horrible)
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Please moderate your language on the forum - we have folks of all ages on here.

    You can always stick a new card in it - any activated card will give you the 6 mix & ftv channels. If you want the movies & sport the card needs to be paired.
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors