Philips digital receiver

Discussion in 'Dutch Chat' started by scoopy02, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. scoopy02

    scoopy02 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anybody in this forum have a Philips digital receiver DSX7072/03A
    and uses Canal Digitaal, the Dutch broadcast system ??
     
  2. cjgall

    cjgall Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Topfield 4000PVR with Aston 1.07 CAM, (canaldigitaal), dragoncam,
    Sky digibox,
    Bush HD Freesat,
    Visiosat trisat looking at Astra1, Astra2 and Hotbird.
    My Location:
    Netherlands & Central Brittany
    Why do you ask? I don't have the DSX7072/03A but do have the new DSR2210 and access canal digitaal on it.
     
  3. scoopy02

    scoopy02 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A year ago I bought a package of one Philips receiver DSX7072/03A, an 80cm master channel dish, LNB monblock dual focus for Astar 19E and Hotbird 13E and DiSEquC. I Have a smart card for receiving the Dutch Canal Digitaal system.
    I came to know later that Philips software doesn't store more than 1000 channels.
    What I want to know is :
    1) How is Hotbird sat scanned ? At what parameters, i.e. frequency, LO LNB , polarity, and through tone high band ?
    The receiver scans for sat channels automatically.
    2) Scanning Hotbird sat channels interfers with some pre-set canal digitaal Astra sat channels like BBCPrime, Eurosport or NBCE channels.
    3) Is there a site for downloading upgrade software or firmware, flash and eeprom for DSX 7072/03A ?
    4) Would the upgrade expand the number of channels from 1000 restricted by Philips to more than that number ?
    5) If the upgraded software or firmware was installed what happens to the pre-set canal digitaal channels ? Will I still be able to use the subscription smart card ?
    6) How do I install the downloaded software or firmware ?
    Are there any sites for downloading the instructions in English ?
    I tried with the Spanish friend Miguel Cara to look for answeres online. Unfortunately all those who use Philips are non-English speakers. Most are from Italy,Spain, France, Holland and Germany. Therefore the forums are not in English !
    But the model I have is compared as equivalent to model DSX6072.
    All the forums are in Dutch, Spanish, Italian or French. I even tried the translation services online but the translation is machine generated translation and not human. Sometimes it doesn't make sense !!!
    Do you have any advice ?
     
  4. jimbo

    jimbo Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Sky HD, TM6800HD, Manhattan Plaza ST550 and TM1500 CI+. 1.0m dish and 36v motor, Panasonic DVD HDD recorder and Panasonic video/DVD recorder. Sony G800 HD TV stand/surround system + Sony KDL40W2000. Infinity USB, Elvis, CAS1, CAS2.
    My Location:
    Greater London
    This is diifficult to give you any tangible advice scooopy02 because I couldn't find an English site for your receiver. With most of the receivers we tend to see in our hobby it's just a case of scanning a satellite like Hotbird at 13E and in come the channels. What encryption is the smart card?
     
  5. cjgall

    cjgall Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Topfield 4000PVR with Aston 1.07 CAM, (canaldigitaal), dragoncam,
    Sky digibox,
    Bush HD Freesat,
    Visiosat trisat looking at Astra1, Astra2 and Hotbird.
    My Location:
    Netherlands & Central Brittany
    I am not sure how the Philips, or any canaldigitaal (cd) receiver scans but I assume it uses the SIT which could mean that it starts at the lowest frquency and works its way up. I do know this though. The best way to add a second sat to a cd receiver is to scan the second sat before scanning astra 1, delete anything you don't need moving the stuff you need to positions above 500 in the list and then scan astra1. Scanning astra 1 in this way will ensure that the hotbird channels will still be viewable albeit only a selection of the first 1000.

    You will only be able to receive programs from the first 1000 on hotbird and as far as I know there is no way to change this.

    I have no experience in Philips sat receiver firmware but I do know you need a piece of kit called an OSLINK*** which costs depending on the model you need 30 - 40 euro's plus postage. You could post your question in the Philips forum on the sat4all board at www.sat4all.com. Its a Dutch board but I should imagine that most users speak English. Be warned though, the board is very heavily policed and they do not tolerate things like requests for- or posting of keys, most web links etc.

    If you have some spare cash you could always get a (second hand) CAS receiver with a mediaguard or astroncrype CAM, this will still allow you to view all the canaldigitaal stuff and let you load several thousand channels without all the restrictions of the Philips receiver. Or you could get an el cheapo FTA receiver which wouldn't set you back much more than the OS link.

    If you get stuck on the sat4all board let me know and I will post your questions in Dutch.

    Good luck!

    OSLINK:
    http://www.oslink.org/Satshop/list_category.php?database=prog&category=1&lang=uk

    There is an OSLINK forum here: http://www.oslink.org/Yabb/index.php?board=16
     
  6. scoopy02

    scoopy02 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your interest and reply. Yes I do know that there's no English
    site for Philips digital receivers and that's why I posted my queey in the Dutch
    chat (Forum).
    If you mean the encription of the smart card the type it's I understand a FUNcard !! If not I have to check the smar card which came with the receiver.
    Thanks again.
     
  7. scoopy02

    scoopy02 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now that's what I call worthwhile information.
    Thank you CJGall from Holland for the tips.
    I'll surely try your sites and tell you about the outcome.
    Many thanks.
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors