Newbie Here Sky (?) LNB identification

Pastychomper

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Sky dish with GeoSync universal LNB connected to a Sharp 50BJ2KE
My Location
North Highlands
Hi all
Can anyone tell me what kind of LNB this is please?
20220831_193645.jpg
20220831_193714.jpg

I'm trying to figure out if I'd have to replace it to use a non-Sky TV for Freesat.

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
It's a Sky Q wideband LNB. Unless you get a Freesat 4K box you'll need to swap it for a Sky mk4 quad LNB.

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK
yes - it wont work with traditional sat boxes will it..? i.e an octagon SF8008 or a GTMEDIA combo?

Pastychomper

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
North Highlands
Thanks. My TV reported strong signals for Astra 2E and found about 280 channels, but I could only watch a few of them and they didn't match the listings I could find. Is replacing the LNB an easy enough job for a bloke on a ladder? I know which end of a screwdriver to hold :)

Manikm909

Small'ish Dish Man
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.8M on Edision MIO 4K & GTMEDIA Combo, and CM1.2M on Octagon SF8008
My Location
Kent, UK
one of the easiest jobs to do when it comes to Sat hobby - a screw or two - remove f-connector - swap out for universal LNB - screw back together, and rotate lnb for max signal

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham