what cable do I need?

BadBehaviour

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Sky HD+ box
My Location
essex
I have purchased a sky HD box to be able to view FTA channels (I have a Sky viewing card for the FTV channels too).

The previous tenant had a Sky subscription so the dish was already installed. We have an aerial up on the roof but we get only about 25 channels, and half of them are just the +1 versions I'd say, so no good.

I have no experience with satellite TV and the various cables. There is a cable that goes from the dish inside the front room and then there is this mysterious cable that seems to just go from the front room up to our bedroom. I checked outside and the cable is not connected to the dish outside or the aerial... it just connects the front room with the bedroom, but I can't see why they would have done that without any apparent purpose.

I want to be able to use the Sky box upstairs, but there doesn't seem to be a cable getting there from the dish. The mysterious cable seems to fit in the RF out connector on the Sky box. So, my question is, can I leave the box downstairs and get the FTA channels in the bedroom If I connect to the TV upstairs the mysterious cable plugged downstairs into the Sky box?
The mysterious cable is quite short upstairs and so, if all that is feasible, I would need to extend it somehow. You can see a pic of what the connector of the mysterious cable upstairs looks like at this link:http://i62.tinypic.com/a0jk1k.jpg.
What type of extension would I need to then plug it into the TV?

Sorry if I didn't maybe explain everything too well, and thanks in advance for any reply.

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
That is most definitely not a standard satellite connector!

Your best bet is just to run a new line of cable from the dish to where ever you need the receiver to be, and put the standard f connectors on each end..

A

archive10