2.5m sat dish installation

teide_ian

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
217
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Home-Amstrad Sky Digi-box on 60cm dish. Bar - Pace Sky English Digi-box and Grundig Sky Eire Digi-box linked to a 2.4m Channel master dish with a single dual output LNB. Digibox for ART network on 90cm dish. Digibox for Digitalalb subscription. Di
My Location
Canary Islands
Not been on net for a while so havent been able to post.
I have just got a new 2.5m dish and needed to know the correct installation for the base.
The dish is going on the roof replacing the old big dish, the problem is i have been told i should concrete the base in or use metal ties to secure.
Just worried about the weight a concrete base would give seeing as its going on a roof. The last dish the base was welded and arms welded to the sides but the welds keep braking but that could of been bad workmanship.
Any ideas of best setup? also where the dish is it gets really windy at times.
thanks in advance.
 

charly20

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
92
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox
My Location
Belgium
Hi,

I have a 2.4m dish.

I used 600kg of concrete for the base in my garden.

I don't know what you would need on your roof.
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
682
Reaction score
54
Points
28
Age
54
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Attachments

  • IMG_0247.jpg
    IMG_0247.jpg
    214.9 KB · Views: 113

teide_ian

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
217
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Home-Amstrad Sky Digi-box on 60cm dish. Bar - Pace Sky English Digi-box and Grundig Sky Eire Digi-box linked to a 2.4m Channel master dish with a single dual output LNB. Digibox for ART network on 90cm dish. Digibox for Digitalalb subscription. Di
My Location
Canary Islands
Thanks alot Trigger.
Do you think i will need some sort of concrete base or will the ties do as in your pics. I have a mate who reckons he could weld the bolts to the bottom plate to make ridged but getting a million ways of what i should do. If i need a concrete base whats the ratio you need as been told anything from 10 to 50 bags af agregate etc.
Not sure what weight the roof can take you see as not sure if roof could be just breeze blocks.
Thanks again
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
682
Reaction score
54
Points
28
Age
54
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
At 2.5M it is obviously smaller then the 3.1M pictured but it is still a hell of a kite.
A lot depends on the "spread" of the base that comes with the dish. The Famaval (pictured) comes with a stupidly small base and it really needs the concrete. I would put the steel ties on anyway as they can assist in aligning the dish. Personally, I put the ties on the mount and not the dish as you don´t want to bend the dish itself - although if the dish is bent to start with then this can help. But this will also depend on the type of dish and where you can get a fixing on it.
The steel cable, turnbuckes etc should only cost you about a tenner at your local Ferreteria. I normally use 4 or 6mm cable. Spray the turnbuckles with a rust inhibiter or smear in vaseline if possible so they can be adjusted at a later date.

Question - Do you know the manufacturer? Or can you post pictures?

Also if you think you can get away without the concrete you have to judge how well the bolt holes tighten into the roof itself. Some Spanish roofs are unbelievably poor.

Post again if I can help any further

Good luck
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
682
Reaction score
54
Points
28
Age
54
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Also if your worried about the weight of the concrete on your roof can it be placed over an internal wall?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,661
Reaction score
8,595
Points
113
Age
59
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
teide_ian said:
Not been on net for a while so havent been able to post.
I have just got a new 2.5m dish and needed to know the correct installation for the base.

What make of 2.5m, and is it one with integral polar/HHmount, or aftermarket ?

What is the recommended post diameter ?
 
Top