Astra 2 South: Settings for Seatel and Sky Tv

Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
seatel with Tac 92 using sky and direct tv
My Location
south of spain
Im looking for settings for Astra 2 southern beam for Seatel TAC 92 and Sky TV. Im on a yacht and approaching Gibraltar can anyone please help?

What i think i really need is the frequency settings?
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
According to Dishpointer

Elevation: 35.2°
Azimuth (true): 131.7°
Azimuth (magn.): 133.6°
LNB Skew [?]: -29.6° Dish Skew [?]: 90.0°

Frequency depends on what channel you're looking for. What size dish do you have?
 

Satmarin

Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Maritime Stabilized VSAT
My Location
Antwerp
You could use these frequencies:
_www.lyngsat.com/Astra-2A.html
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
seatel with Tac 92 using sky and direct tv
My Location
south of spain
PaulR said:
According to Dishpointer

Elevation: 35.2°
Azimuth (true): 131.7°
Azimuth (magn.): 133.6°
LNB Skew [?]: -29.6° Dish Skew [?]: 90.0°

Frequency depends on what channel you're looking for. What size dish do you have?

Thanks for the info, we have a 1.2 meter dish.

in getting a few channels im tracking 28.2E, how do i determine if its Astra 2A, 2B, 2D etc.

How do i select the different beams?

Thanks

Jay
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
There should be no difference in positioning a dish of normal sizes between Astra 2A, 2B or 2D at 28.2E. It's only when you get to something like a 3m dish that you even tell the difference between those three and Eurobird at 28.5E so for most installations all four can be treated as the same.

When you say you're getting a few channels what do you mean? If you mean that your satellite receiver is only showing a few as being there when you scan then you're probably pointing to the wrong satellite as frequencies are reused across all the satellites in the sky. If you mean that you can actually see only a few of what you're expecting on a TV that's a different thing. If so, can you name a few of what you're able to watch?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
seatel with Tac 92 using sky and direct tv
My Location
south of spain
Hey Paul,

Ok thats good, but i believe that i need to change to the southern bean to be in the footprint for this area?

Yes when i do a sky box scan only a couple of channels are shown, im pretty sure im on the wrong SAT but not having any luck catching the one i want?

Many thanks

Jay
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
You can't "change" to the southern beam as you can only either receive it if the dish is big enough or not if it isn't. Have you tried to set the dish up according to the Dishpointer figures?

Do you have a non-$ly box that you could use to scan the satellite to see what channels are there? Then we could work out what satellite you've actually found and which way to turn it.
 
Top