Astra 28.2 and Hotbird 13.0

mattybee

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
90cm Fortec Star Dish on a Stab Motor supported on 24" T&K brackets, with a Fortec Star Sigma reciever, picking up 4w to 42e
My Location
Widnes, Cheshire
Hi

I will be moving into a new house in a few weeks and it has, what looks like a 65cm dish up (I assume it is pointing towards Astra 28.2), Can I pick up Hotbird 13.0 as well through this dish without using a motor?

Thanks in advance.

mattybee
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The Hotties at 13E are pretty powerful so give it a go - you have nothing to lose apart from a couple of hours tinkering time.

You *may* find you dont have a great deal of rain fade margin, but go for it :)
 

mattybee

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
90cm Fortec Star Dish on a Stab Motor supported on 24" T&K brackets, with a Fortec Star Sigma reciever, picking up 4w to 42e
My Location
Widnes, Cheshire
Oh Cool, will certainly try that once I have moved in, I have seen on another website what looks like a dual LNB holder is that worht getting?

Mattybee
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
I rather doubt there are suitable lnb holders readily availble for sky dishes - you are probably going to have to bodge it......
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Just to add....
13e and 28e might well be possible with a suitable multi-bracket on your existing dish assuming it's not a mini-dish due to LNb brackets and availability as AS has suggested. You may need to buy another suitable dish with multi-bracket.

I actually tried it with a Z1 dish and made a temp bracket/arm. It worked but was bodged.

If you do, align centre on 13e and set up offset LNb for 28e

A picture of the dish would answer your question

:)
 

gerryl

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
111
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
59
have alook at the ...TechniSat Multytenne -45cms receives 4Sats- ASTRA 1, HOT BIRD, ASTRA 3 and ASTRA 2.

Don't know anyone who's tried these and they are costly so you call :confused
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
gerryl said:
have alook at the ...TechniSat Multytenne -45cms receives 4Sats- ASTRA 1, HOT BIRD, ASTRA 3 and ASTRA 2.

Don't know anyone who's tried these and they are costly so you call :confused


Rather on the small side for the OP's location in Cheshire :)
 
Top