Newbie Here Astra 2E From Santander

Txops

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
100cm Motorised dish
My Location
Near Santander (39738)
Greetings everyone,
I've got an old 100 cm motorised setup installation near Santander (Spain). After the 2e migration of the freeview channels I lost all hope of receiving them. However, today I had some time off and fiddled a bit with my installation and managed to get some BBC, ITV and Channel 4 channels with intermitent breakup. Has the power of the emission recently been powered up or have I had a badly adjusted setup?
My dish is a little worn out, badly repainted (not very smooth) and bashed a bit around the edges. My question is, If I upgrade my configuration to a Tecatel 135 fixed dish (Is the maximum my budget can afford), will I gain enough quality to be able to receive the signal 24 /7? Currently I get around 45 -50 quality signal at 7 PM. so I get frequent break ups.
Will a 35 % increase in the dish size increase the quality of the signal enough for a 24 /7 reception or close to it?
Any advice would be greatly appreciatted.

briangw

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Humax HDR1000
Samsung 40" TV
FS Passion+160Gb
Samsung 22" TV
Humax Foxsat
Hannspree 22" HDMI
1.8m Prodelin offset
Triax Cascade System
with 19 Apartments
My Location
Los Lobos, SE Spain (Lat: 37.3087° Long: -1.7647°)
That 35% increase in dish width is actually giving you about 70% increase in dish surface area. So I would say that if you are receiving something on your existing dish, then the probability of receiving a solid and reliable signal is quite good. Anyway thats the theory, lets hope there is somebody local to Santander who can give a view based more on personal experience.

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well I've had a quick look at Analoguesat's 2E Reception Map