azbox with e2 on it

tebaa

Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
sky box
solo2
technomate nano 2
1.2 dish
My Location
fort william
hi all i have been offerd a azbox with e2 on it and was wondering if anybody else
is using one of these and if so what are they like now ,they seemed redundant
a while ago. but there seems to be a wee buzz about them again since they started
using enigma images. any help or thoughts much appriciated cheers stevie
 

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,033
Reaction score
49
Points
48
It works ok, but it is not as reliable/stable as the benchmark e2 boxes.

There are a few different images to try and it is very easy to switch from e2 image to e2 image and test them out to see which you prefer. If you want you could put the original image back in - but I can't see the point.

I am using Spaze 2.2 which has everything I need but I do get the odd unexplained hang up. There was a lot of image improvements and updates from all the teams through 2011/early 2012. This development has stopped so don't expect anything in the future to improve on the current status.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
I can't see any reason to choose an Azbox unless it is really cheap, but even then you will be using an out of date E2 image with little to no support. Personally if I were starting out in Linux receivers I would go for a Vu+ Uno or an Xtrend 9x00 (new or second hand).

There are cheaper options, for example Vu+ Solo/Duo, TM Twin, Gigablue, etc. but they lack blind search if you are into that.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
FWIW ...I still do use my AZbox ..though not with E2 on it ..
Not one of the highest gain tuners ..but has the one saving grace of being able to handle 4:2:2 without streaming to a PC..
rgds
VS
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
I second that, worth every penny for opening 4:2:2 feeds which are very common in North America for live network sports broadcasts.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Costactc said:
worth every penny for opening 4:2:2 feed
Personally I don't agree. I'd much rather have a benchmark E2 receiver that is stable and has a well supported software platform, than be concentrating on one feature that many people will never use anyway. Anyway the OP hasn't stated which Azbox it is but it probably doesn't even have blind search so he would need to feed hunt on one receiver and then transfer the details to the Azbox to watch.

And anyway, TBH streaming is no big deal. If you have an E2 receiver you're sure to have a computer and networking facilities. Even a laptop is fine and then you have a 4:2:2 setup. It's not like the laptop has to be connected to anything. Just stream from the E2 receiver to the laptop and back to the TV via wireless.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
If the box is cheap enough then go for it. An upto date image is not that necessary as long as the box does what it says on the tin. My old DM7020 is still using an image that is over 2 years old and it works fine, proving the point.

If the box ticks all the boxes then its worth buying. No E2 box will be 100% stable as upto now i have found that most have a few glitches here and there.

Nano
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
I get where you're coming from Huevos ..but streaming isn't always convenient ...
Streaming HD signals can be a problem for most people using low speed wireless connections ..and the added inconvenience of having 2 pieces of tech running to do 1 job isn't particularly energy efficient..

just my 2 cents worth ..but for occasional use with SD..I suppose its ok.
rgds
VS
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Vipersan said:
streaming isn't always convenient
You're missing my point. 4:2:2 is but one feature of a receiver (which most people will never use). There are other important things to consider, like software support, tuner sensitivity, blind scan, etc.

But anyway right now we are all in the dark because the thread doesn't state the model or the price, and to give any useful advice we'd need to know both.
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
Huevos said:
You're missing my point. 4:2:2 is but one feature of a receiver (which most people will never use). There are other important things to consider, like software support, tuner sensitivity, blind scan, etc.

But anyway right now we are all in the dark because the thread doesn't state the model or the price, and to give any useful advice we'd need to know both.

I agree that there are other aspects of a receiver. However, for myself, I post wild feeds on several North American sites and a receiver for me is what it scans in and its speed at doing so, I have never really dabbled with the more technical parts of an stb.
 
Top