BBC and ITV in Denmark

alexmac

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Sky pace sky digibox
1.2 metre dish
My Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
Hi all,

Newbie user here. I am currently living in Denmark just west of Copenhagen.

I have a 1.2 m dish that I installed myself but can not pick up the BBC or ITV channels.

Overal signal is full strength and quality 75%.

I have nothing blocking the signal direction.

Any thoughts or suggestions much appreciated.

Hoping to watch the open golf on the Beeb, lets hope!

Thanks in advance
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Have you got some pictures of your setup? What make is the dish and what type of LNB, you should be able to pull in most of the channels with a good quality 1.2m dish and LNB, but the alignment and skew of the LNB is crucial.
 

jtkeep

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
74
Hi I think the 1.2m dish is a little on the small side for copenhagen 1.5m would be best.

Anyway firstly try on your digibox, go to services press 401, press select, press manual tuning, press the freqency 10773, next H, next 22000, next 5/6, next find channel, see if you have a lock on this freqency if not then your dish is not adjusted or big enough or maybe you have lnb problems.

If this does not help let me know i will try to help you.

All the best Thomas Randers Denmark
 

alexmac

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Sky pace sky digibox
1.2 metre dish
My Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
Hi Guys

Thanks for the replies. Will run the tests later.

Set up is

Visiosat 1.2 m dish

LNB

Maximum Universal 0.3 db single platinum

Not sure if this is good or bad?
 

alexmac

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Sky pace sky digibox
1.2 metre dish
My Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
What is the suggested skew for the Lnb?
 

jtkeep

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
74
Hi Alexmac

I have never found the skew did very much here i denmark.

Are you getting the strong signals from astra 2a 2b, if so adjust these to maximum.

The weaker Astra 2d signals are here in denmark best after kl.14.

I would think you can at least get BBC 1 chanel islands i think it is 988 on the sky digibox EPG.

It is a matter of tweaking your dish, the signal strength/quality at 75% is a bit low it should be nearly 100% as this is the default transponder which is not Astra 2D, i think it is Astra 2A/2B which have a very strong signal over Denmark.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Skew may not be overly important on non-2D channels, but it is paramount in a fringe location on the 2D channels. You can set it approximately by taking the information provided by dishpointer.com, but it is best set whilst watching the quality readings on the receiver, or better still a meter.
 

jtkeep

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
74
Hi Rolfw

I have tried tweaking my system for Astra 2D, it has never made a blind bit of difference with the skew in fact it just gets weaker turning it from one side to the other.

I have found it is best signal straight up and down here in denmark.
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
jtkeep said:
I have found it is best signal straight up and down here in denmark.


That's because the skew setting for Denmark is just 3 degrees (Copenhagen -3.4°)
 

alexmac

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Sky pace sky digibox
1.2 metre dish
My Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
Thanks for all the help and advice.

As I said before I am a newbie and so have a guy coming round to help.

Is it possible to let me know what all my settings should be as you guys seem to know everything!

That would be dish settings and sky box settings.

Thanks again in advance.

still hoping to see the golf at the weekend!!
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
From Satlex.de:
Copenhagen, Denmark.
Azimuth angle:
161.37° (True North)
Elevation angle:
25.16°
LNB tilt (Skew):
-3.4° (Astra 2A/B/C/D => special case!)
Offset angle:
20.36°
Distance to satellite:
39061.77 Km
Signal delay:
260.41 ms (Uplink + Downlink)
Declination angle:
-7.68°
Polarmount hour angle:
163.04°
Angle setting on motor:
16.96° East
Satellite:
Astra 2A/B/C/D (28.2° E = 331.8° W)
There are no special settings on a Sky receiver if signal strength is good.
There is a special setup if you can't receive the default transponder, but I don't think this will apply in Denmark.
 

alexmac

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Sky pace sky digibox
1.2 metre dish
My Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
Hi all
An update on my situation.

The guy came round today and said as they had moved the footprint I would be unable to pick up the signal from 2D on anything less than a 2m dish.

So, no golf this weekend! And now its either a question of forgetting the BBC or talking nice to my neighbours and putting up a 2m dish.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Why not keep them sweet and run them a feed to? :D :D
 

jtkeep

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
74
Firstly i have not heard that Astra have moved the footprint, i have recieved Astra 2 D in Vejle for the past 4 years on a 110cm dish 24/7.
As i said i my past post a 1.2m dish is a little small for Copenhagen.

There are a lot of reports from people recieving Astra 2D in Copenhagen with a 1.5m dish.

I still think you could get some 2D chanels on your 1.25 dish firstly you have to tweak your setup, first find the strong chanels and adjust them to max, when this is done you might be able to see some 2D chanels maybe not 24/7 but some of the time.

There are some chanels which are strong ITV 1 Central (12199) is on the north beam freq 12.402 vertical SR 27500 FEC 2/3. try and find that on your sky digi box add chanels.

All the best Thomas
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
alexmac said:
Hi all
An update on my situation.

The guy came round today and said as they had moved the footprint I would be unable to pick up the signal from 2D on anything less than a 2m dish.

So, no golf this weekend! And now its either a question of forgetting the BBC or talking nice to my neighbours and putting up a 2m dish.
Anyone who says this kind of complete nonsense, should be shown the door and advised to put himself the other side of it, pronto.
Get a proper installer.
 

jdb

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
50
My Satellite Setup
1.3m parabol
invacom single 0.3 lnb
My Location
denmark
Hi Alexmac - to watch open golf on the beeb just go to 503 bbc news on the digibox then select text and type in 3001 and then select.
 

alexmac

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Sky pace sky digibox
1.2 metre dish
My Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
Thanks Jdb!

Golf watched!!

Where in Denmark are you and do you recieve the BBC ect_
 
Top