Boffins take gigapixel photos using ordinary camera

chris

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
357
Reaction score
260
Points
63
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
TalkTalk TV
My Location
Worksop UK
Scientists at Carnegie Mellon University have developed a device that lets a standard digital camera take pictures with a resolution of 1-gigapixel (1,000-megapixels).

The Gigapan is a robotic arm that takes multiple pictures of the same scene and blends them into a single image. The resulting picture can be expanded to show incredible detail.

"Our goal is to bring the world closer together by making it possible for anybody to take these panoramas and show them to people across the world," Randy Sargent, chief architect of the project at Carnegie Mellon, told The Times.

The robot takes a single picture and then takes 36 horizontal and 10 vertical overlapping shots.

Software then merges the images to produce the final image, such as one of the South Bank in London.

No date for the release off the device has yet been given but it is expected to retail for several hundred dollars.



Source: vnunet
 

dig deep

Prince of Birthdays
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
8,972
Reaction score
424
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
Dream7020 and AZ Elite and a few DM800
My Location
Sweden
Looks like it would be a great gadget for us all.

However,,,,, seen it before

Any Japanese tourist group will do it that way:-rofl2
 

PoloMint

Super Minty Mod
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
1,588
Reaction score
1
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
1200cc with 100,000,000,000 neurons and 100,000,000,000,000 connections
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Interesting, but bow long does it take to take all these pictures? Needing an absolutely stationary subject must limit what it can be used for.
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
PoloMint said:
Interesting, but bow long does it take to take all these pictures? Needing an absolutely stationary subject must limit what it can be used for.

That's what I was thinking, if you're taking a pic of a sunset you'll start with a light picture and gradually get darker and darker pictures... :confused

I'd rather wait until the Genuine Gigapixel cameras hit the shelves... :)
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,026
Reaction score
4,049
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
And what about the 120GB memory card to hold your 4 photos on?
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
PaulR said:
And what about the 120GB memory card to hold your 4 photos on?

Technology's advancing everyday, I'm sure by then we'll all be carrying round Terabyte cards in our mobiles, PDAs and cameras... :D
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,306
Reaction score
1,626
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
2cvbloke said:
I'd rather wait until the Genuine Gigapixel cameras hit the shelves... :)

Yep so anyone can take bad pictures, but with incredible detail. :-rofl2
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
rolfw said:
Yep so anyone can take bad pictures, but with incredible detail. :-rofl2

Well it's all to do with the owner, if they're 5h1t at photography, they'll take 5h1t pictures, but if they know what they're doing, they'll take superb pics... :D
 

dabe

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
NA
My Location
Salford, UK
it's amazing how much detail you can get with panorama. i've tried using a point and shoot camera, taking 15 or so separate pictures and mashing them up in photoshop using the panorama function and it came out well - one could swear that it was taken using a canon mark3.
 
Top