1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Listen Up BT has offered to provide the infrastructure by 2020

Discussion in 'Tech Head News Items' started by Topper, Jul 31, 2017.

  1. Topper

    Topper Amo Amas Amant Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    20,793
    Likes Received:
    2,909
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    IDD CI24 ECONO MM Penta 1.20 Galaxy II
    1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 25 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancashire
    BT has offered to provide the infrastructure for 99% of premises in the UK to get broadband speeds of at least 10 megabits per second by 2020.

    If accepted, it would mean government-proposed rules, allowing those living in remote areas to demand broadband, were unnecessary.

    BT says it would invest up to £600m and coverage would be universal by 2022.

    About 1.4 million households currently cannot get speeds above 10Mbps, according to Ofcom.

    Click here fore full story
     
  2. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    44,386
    Likes Received:
    7,303
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM 5402HD
    Skybox F3
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Bloody amazing isnt it. For years BT / Openreach have been saying BB is too expensive to roll out to remote areas without massive subsidies from the tax payer, and as soon as the possibility of a Universal Service Obligation is waved at them they change their mind. All of a sudden FTTP can be run out to virtually anywhere that wants it - and all for the bargain price of £600 million.......
     
  3. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    22,942
    Likes Received:
    4,547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    I'm surprised as well. For almost three years we had intermittent/non existent on our copper line, leading to same on the broadband piggybacked onto it, which was confirmed finally as being down to a bit of copper corrosion on top of the pole at the end of the road, yet they are now claiming to promise decent internet up and down the country.

    Perhaps Greater London has always been the 1% that is unlikely to get decent service.
     
  4. 2cvbloke

    2cvbloke Bulbs need shelter too...

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9,051
    Likes Received:
    1,531
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
    My Location:
    Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
    BT are still far, far behind the times though, the FTTC (or VDSL) is still just a cop-out, yes it delivers "up-to" 80Mbps on the higher packages, but, considering that places in Canada and the US where telecoms monopolies are worse (and more profiteering), they have fibre to the premises surpassing 1Gbps speeds, and have had it for years, but one of the past BT execs was once heard to say "Nobody needs fibreoptic broadband", and they've stuck to that...

    With BT separating out Openreach into it's own entity (though that's like saying Plusnet is it's own company, when BT own it outright), things may be run differently, but, 10Mbps for everyone by 2020? That goal is old-hat, it should have been for for 2010, 1Gbps should be the upper 2020 target and 100Mbps the absolute bare minimum, given the way the internet is changing, connections to it need to evolve with it, not be kept in the slow lane 'til a government body steps in to force them to upgrade...
     
    nelson_b likes this.
  5. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,232
    Likes Received:
    6,345
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Buried in the small print is the use of Wireless infrastructure for some rural areas.

    What isn't mentioned is that there are already many smaller providers, like the one I use, who are years ahead in that game.

    And on the rare occasions the system has a fault, there are backup facilities and re-rerouting that are achieved automatically or, at worst, manually within an hour or so.

    Try getting Openreach to match that.

    Ever.
     
  6. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    44,386
    Likes Received:
    7,303
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM 5402HD
    Skybox F3
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    I would snatch your hand off for 10Mbps here, but seeing as we will be moving soon Im not going to benefit from any upgrades along the valley..
     
  7. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    Didn't Bill Gates say "something similar" about the internet :-rofl2
     
  8. 2cvbloke

    2cvbloke Bulbs need shelter too...

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9,051
    Likes Received:
    1,531
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
    My Location:
    Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
    I think that was to do with memory, something like nobody needs more than 640k, though he keeps claiming he didn't say it (well, he would, wouldn't he?!)... :-lol
     
  9. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,232
    Likes Received:
    6,345
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    No, no, no: 640k is his rate of dollar earnings income/nanosecond.
     
    Chris1979 likes this.
  10. Laser

    Laser Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dr HD F15 x 2, 1Dr HD D15, Technomate 5502HD , Technomate 5402HD MK3, + 1.2 Channel Master Dish. + 1.1 Triax. Both motorised, 53e - 45w. Inverto Black Ultra .2db lnbs on both dishes.
    My Location:
    Berkshire
    How will your satellite reception be when you move Analoguesat?
     
  11. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    44,386
    Likes Received:
    7,303
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM 5402HD
    Skybox F3
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    No idea atm - I probably wont get away with my multi dish set up at the next place though! So I may have to go motorised.
     
  12. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,232
    Likes Received:
    6,345
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    ...... at last! :D
     
  13. John Pykett

    John Pykett Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dish setup: 80cm Motorized Dish, TM-5402 HD M3 (1w, 3e, 4.8e, 7e, 9e, 13e, 19.2e, 23.5e, 28.2e)

    My phone: Nokia 3310 (2017)

    My computer setup: AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.11ghz processor and 8gb of ram. Graphics card is Nvidia Gtx 750 Ti
    My Location:
    Hucknall, United Kingdom
    i thought you already have a motorized dish ross :confused
     
  14. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    44,386
    Likes Received:
    7,303
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM 5402HD
    Skybox F3
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Nope - thats far too sensible for me - Ive got 8 dishes in the garden at the moment many with multiple lnb's on them all cross wired through a 16 way switch. :D
     
  15. John Pykett

    John Pykett Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dish setup: 80cm Motorized Dish, TM-5402 HD M3 (1w, 3e, 4.8e, 7e, 9e, 13e, 19.2e, 23.5e, 28.2e)

    My phone: Nokia 3310 (2017)

    My computer setup: AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.11ghz processor and 8gb of ram. Graphics card is Nvidia Gtx 750 Ti
    My Location:
    Hucknall, United Kingdom
    so it will be both our first time getting a motorized setup
     
  16. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    44,386
    Likes Received:
    7,303
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM 5402HD
    Skybox F3
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    I shall avoid it if possible simply because I prefer the instant switching between satellites that multi lnb's offers.:D
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors