C4 now stopped in Poland

warpol

Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
Standard PACE digibox
1/1.2m? dish
My Location
Poland-Warsaw
Hello, for the last 6 months i have been recieving ch4 & ch5 no problem using the normal EPG with a standard PACE sky digibox and around a 1/1.2m dish in Warsaw poland. Yesterday during late afternoon/early evening ch4 has just stopped saying 'no satellite reception'. Any ideas what has happened or what i could do?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands

warpol

Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
Standard PACE digibox
1/1.2m? dish
My Location
Poland-Warsaw
satelliteman said:
Welcome to Satellites forum,

Channel 4 as of yesterday has moved over to Astra 2d spot beam. This is where the BBC & ITV broadcast. Those that are in fringe areas require larger dishes in order to pull in this beam.

http://www.satellites.co.uk/satelli...fringe-reception-tech/132131-ch4-10-729v.html

http://www.satellites.co.uk/satelli...ringe-reception-tech/131113-channel-4-2d.html

Hope this helps

SatMan :)


Thanks SatMan, now i know the reason. Very annoying as that was the main channel we watched. Do you have any idea how big a dish we might need now, would 1.5m be enough do you think?

Is there any other way we could get C4 without a bigger dish, i.e. adding one in other channels somehow?
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,031
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
This map shows you roughly the situation in some locations in Poland: http://forum.skysunsat.pl/imgshack/_f/f_0002230.jpg

I'd recommend asking also here: _http://forum.skysunsat.pl/282e-%3Cb%3Eeurobird-1-astra-2a-2b-2c-2d%3C-b%3E-vf93.htm?sid=36440e9c924d15e2f23c8cc08477fbb0
 

rbfinland

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
sky box and 1 m dish in helsinki
My Location
Finland
I had the same problem here in Finland, but you can still get C4 +1 on channel 135, better than no channl 4 :-)
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Zorba

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
2,201
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
3m(28.2E),1.5m(19.2E.13E,10E),1m (4W ,7W)1m (?).diseqc 10,sky plus,VU+,telergy iptv.
Satlook nit colour + Horizon hdsm.
My Location
Limassol, Sunny Cyprus
If you tune into the original ch4 frequency-12.168 V then you will find ch4l test .add it to other channels and you can still watch ch4.till it goes off?
 

Zorba

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
2,201
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
3m(28.2E),1.5m(19.2E.13E,10E),1m (4W ,7W)1m (?).diseqc 10,sky plus,VU+,telergy iptv.
Satlook nit colour + Horizon hdsm.
My Location
Limassol, Sunny Cyprus
warpol said:
Is there any other way we could get C4 without a bigger dish, i.e. adding one in other channels somehow?
Do you not get BBC from 2D ? If you know anyone that does,what size dish do they have? That's the size dish needed for the "new" ch4
 

geoffreys

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
Website
Visit site
My Satellite Setup
Famaval 2.4m dish, Invacom 0.2dB LNB (single), Pace 430N
My Location
Famagusta District, Cyprus
zorba said:
If you tune into the original ch4 frequency-12.168 V then you will find ch4l test .add it to other channels and you can still watch ch4.till it goes off?

Thanks for that Zorba, it gives us a brief respite. No getting away from the fact that for many 1000s of us expat Brits the moving of Ch4 to the 2D satellite is a bitter blow. Already we had to put up with no BBC or ITV since about 2003 - unless we spend 1000s of pounds on a huge dish.
I suspect many will now give up their SKY subscriptions,
Geoff
Cyprus
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
I suspect many will now give up their SKY subscriptions,

what from losing Ch4 ? lol
 

geoffrey

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
135
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Age
81
Location
Zichron Yaacov
My Satellite Setup
2.4M ChannelMaster Offset with Smart Titanium TQS LNB. LG SMART TV with SuperTrack V-Box 2 on ChannelMaster 1.2M Offset. TBS5925 tuner with EBSPro on Windows 10 laptop. Satlook Digital NIT.
My Location
Israel
Channel 4HD is still OK in Israel (and ordinary Channel 4+1 most of the time). I got an HD box especially to get Channel 4 so I hope its not going to go.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands

warpol

Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
Standard PACE digibox
1/1.2m? dish
My Location
Poland-Warsaw
Thanks for that deepbluesky and rb finland. Yes C4+1 works still, for quite a while yet i hope! Trouble is that makes programs on at 9/10 in UK normal time at 11/12 at night, a little late for me, but i guess better than nothing.

Yes thanks for that also Zorba will give it a go.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,849
Reaction score
11,288
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
geoffreys said:
Thanks for that Zorba, it gives us a brief respite. No getting away from the fact that for many 1000s of us expat Brits the moving of Ch4 to the 2D satellite is a bitter blow. Already we had to put up with no BBC or ITV since about 2003 - unless we spend 1000s of pounds on a huge dish.
I suspect many will now give up their SKY subscriptions,
Geoff
Cyprus

They arent supposed to be watching anyway :D

C4 isnt part of the sky subscription ;)

Out of area reception is always a luxury which can be modified at any time. - C5 will likely be the next one to disappear for you
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
C5 will likely be the next one to disappear for you

God knows where on 2d that will be placed :D
 

geoffreys

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
Website
Visit site
My Satellite Setup
Famaval 2.4m dish, Invacom 0.2dB LNB (single), Pace 430N
My Location
Famagusta District, Cyprus
Analoguesat said:
They arent supposed to be watching anyway :D

C4 isnt part of the sky subscription ;)

Out of area reception is always a luxury which can be modified at any time. - C5 will likely be the next one to disappear for you


Whether we are supposed to be watching (SKY) or not, we ARE paying.
If we all stop paying then YOU, in UK, will finish up paying more.
Poetic justice perhaps?
May you live in interesting times.

By the way, EU legislation states that an EU National residing in another EU country should be allowed to watch his home country's satellite transmissions, e.g. British Expat like me living in South Cyprus. This would be easy for SKY to introduce with a seperate issue of viewing card with channels scrambled/encrypted, then they wouldn't need to use the UK Spot beams. QED?????

Geoff
 

woborny

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
1,109
Reaction score
293
Points
83
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
1.8m Dish, most Sky and Freesat receivers, 80cm on Illusion motor and Dreambox DM7025, TDT, TDT HD, Ariva 100e,
My Location
Gandia, 70kms south of Valencia, Spain
geoffreys said:
By the way, EU legislation states that an EU National residing in another EU country should be allowed to watch his home country's satellite transmissions

i think that part was under the freedom of information, but there is another part somewhere that also recognises how tv contracts across europe work - typical confusing eu regs.
the beeb satisfies the eu regs for freedowm of info over europe for british expats by BBC World and BBC Prime.
but they do allow you to watch your countries tv - its not their fault you have to pay for a mega dish to do so....
 

digi24

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2003
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
Fixed reception from: *28*19*16*13*9
*Panasonic TUDSB40*
*Topfield 5000 PVR*
*Humax HD1000*
*Sky Digital subscription*
*Dragon 4.1*
*T-Rex supermodule*
*Diablo 2.3*
*Diablo 2*
*ADSL 24Mbps*
My Location
Athens/Greece
geoffreys said:
Thanks for that Zorba, it gives us a brief respite. No getting away from the fact that for many 1000s of us expat Brits the moving of Ch4 to the 2D satellite is a bitter blow. Already we had to put up with no BBC or ITV since about 2003 - unless we spend 1000s of pounds on a huge dish.
I suspect many will now give up their SKY subscriptions,
Geoff
Cyprus


ITV has (only recently) become viewable without a huge dish m8 !
Also C4L and C4+1 are still there (and encrypted which gives some comfort for the time being that they might not be in extreme rush to remove them). May be the case is that C4 follows the steps of ITV's recent reshuffle.

The time will prove who is right and who is not
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,849
Reaction score
11,288
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
geoffreys said:
By the way, EU legislation states that an EU National residing in another EU country should be allowed to watch his home country's satellite transmissions, e.g. British Expat like me living in South Cyprus. This would be easy for SKY to introduce with a seperate issue of viewing card with channels scrambled/encrypted, then they wouldn't need to use the UK Spot beams. QED?????

Geoff

Even if Sky did introduce such a system seeing as the BBC, ITV, soon to be C4 and C5 have broken free from the shackles of Sky's encryption - (which has allowed the development of PSB Freesat) - it wouldnt help you in the slightest as they channels are nothing whatsoever to do with Sky apart from paying the epg fees.

Or maybe you think the whole Freesat idea should be dismantled just so a few thousand expats can watch Eastenders?? ;)
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
.......& Holby :-rofl2
 
Top