Help Required Can't find any satellites (from UK)

magyar007

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm w/ inverto monoblock lnb or the inverto high gain lnb
My Location
London
Hello I am new to finding satellite channels. I recently bought an 80cm dish with Inverto 6 degree monoblock lnb. I use a cheap satellite finder which just makes noise and moves from 0 to 9. This is connected between the lnb and the receiver (Openbox V8S).

After 3 days of moving the dish around the garden and looking up directions I managed to get lots of Ukrainian and Turkish channels somehow. For example Dobro tv, Channel 5 Ukraine, Nadya, Belsat, TRT Turk etc. When I looked them up they seemed to be on Astra 4A (4.8e) and Eutelsat 7A (7e).

The openbox receiver showed signal intensity about 90% and signal quality about 50-60%. However when I go through the list of satellites the signal and quality is dead on every satellite. Even choosing satellites at these degrees does not show a signal. The channels I got only came up on a custom satellite I created at 29.2e and only a few transponders would work.

When moving the dish around I often can get a very high signal on some satellites, where the meter is high on very low sensitivity but the receiver never shows anything.

Some of the satellites show a list of transponders, perhaps because I hit them at some point but I've never seen a signal on the receiver. The monobloc lnb is a nightmare because I have to scan though 60 satellites choosing Disenq 1.0 port 1, and then again choosing port 2 which takes ages. Always amounting to nothing.

Is it very hard to tune into satellites? How do you know when it's tuned well enough that the receiver will actually show a signal for the particular satellite? Is there any receiver that shows which satellite you've hit?

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Welcome to the forum