1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Channel 4 on 10714H dropped away

Discussion in 'Sky & Freesat fringe reception' started by joddle, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. joddle

    joddle Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
    My Location:
    Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
    For the first time in many years I have been getting bad breakup on Channel 4 SD with an SQ reading on the box of only 55% - everything else on 2G coming in at fine with around 95- 100% SQ on the same boxes. Any reason why this channel in particular is playing up? - Ch4+1 is fine as is More4 and 4HD.
     
  2. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,390
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    Since it is at the low end of the Ku band have you tried another LNB ?
     
  3. joddle

    joddle Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
    My Location:
    Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
    Not tried another LNB but did try using a Humax box instead of the Manhattan and on that its perfect again! ) 100% SS and 100% SQ - On all my Manhattans (three in all ) C4 is really bad (SS around 60% and SQ around 55% (and I do know you can't really compare those figures from box to box but that is some considerable difference!) - so its must be due to the receiver at least in part but this has only been happening for the past week or so! The Manhattan I am aware is not nearly as sensitive as the Humax but surely that can only be part of the reason - Odd...
     
  4. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Модератор Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,682
    Likes Received:
    6,631
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    North Somerset
    Power supply caps gone?
     
  5. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,390
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East


    What you write conflicts with your opening post, another receiver is coping with the incoming signal from the dish/LNB. Which is correct ?
     
  6. 4wd

    4wd Getting the picture

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    5 W, 9-13-19-28 E
    My Location:
    Bergen, Norway \ Alpes Maritimes, France
    FWitsW, here (France) 10714 H ch4 3dB under 10729 V ch4+1
    Would make all the difference if lack of margin \ tuner not sensitive \ dish\lnb a little off.
     
  7. woborny

    woborny Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    232
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.8m Dish, most Sky and Freesat receivers, 80cm on Illusion motor and Dreambox DM7025, TDT, TDT HD, Ariva 100e,
    My Location:
    Gandia, 70kms south of Valencia, Spain
    Can see no issues with that frequency here (70kms south of you)...so would suggest it is an issue at your side, LNB or receiver...
     
    Lazarus likes this.
  8. joddle

    joddle Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
    My Location:
    Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
    Maybe I am missing something but I don't really see what the conflict is - I have been using 3 Manhattans for a few years now - all three are different ages and all running of the same Invacom quad LNB but all 3 of them have started to breakup on C4 but no other channels seem affected and have very high SQ and SS readings. Due to all three being of different ages I doubt the power supply caps have anything to do with it. My Humax boxes are much older and have been "in retirement" as spares as it they all suffered from power cap issues although two of them have now been recapped. Out of interest I connected one of them up on the same LNB to see if the c4 issues were only affecting the Manhattans - and it seem that is the case! My only other issue in using the Humax boxes regularly is that with my oversized dish several channels get swamped so that's why I started using the less sensitive Manhattans.
     
  9. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,390
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    I did not suggest the PSU caps, but the LNB as a first suspect. A low frequency fall off in signal is an indication of impending trouble at the multiswitch stage inside
     
  10. joddle

    joddle Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
    My Location:
    Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
    Sorry - Mixed replies being answered in one post - - Of course it was Captain Jack suggesting power supply caps and I was trying to cover all posts in one reply. Still not convinced its the LNB as it works fine on the Humax boxes.
     
  11. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,390
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    Well unless you have a horrendous case of internal radiation at 1GHz that your Humax is immune to, what do you think would affect three other receivers at the same time?
     
  12. rodscha

    rodscha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
    c4 works fine here in south france,both sd and hd
     
  13. joddle

    joddle Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
    My Location:
    Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
    You have raised my question again it being what could affect all the others Manhattan boxes but not the Humax? The Manhattans are in three very different locations in a large property so sources of radiation I think can be eliminated as that would surely then affect one box more than the others - but all respond exactly the same.

    If it is something to do with the frequency of Ch4 then are there other channels very near to it which could also be affected? - so far not found any issues with channels we watch but perhaps there are some others worth monitoring.

    The only other issue I can think of is may be interference from another sat - and the relative selectivity of the Manhattan and Humax boxes with one being able to cope one better than the other - I think I am going to try an in line attenuator to see if that changes anything.
     
  14. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,390
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    No, no, and no. Dect phones and some mains wireless extenders have been the cause of trouble, but not at low frequencies.

    Change the lnb, they’re cheap.
     
  15. joddle

    joddle Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
    My Location:
    Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
    Well not that cheap - but worth a try - The current one was installed by one of this thread's contributors over 10 years ago. It is and Invacom quad so I think unless anyone suggests something better I will go for the same again. But it will have to wait until after Christmas - we can watch CH4 on HD fine (or use the Humax if really needed for Film 4)

    We do have wi fi power lines in the house and two wifi routers and also several Dect phones - I will try unplugging those later to see if they have any effect but form what is said in the above post it seems unlikely.

    Had a little play this morning and found film 4 does the same thing (not surprising as the same frequency) - also put on a 10db attenuator. The only channels to drop out were Ch4 SD and Film 4 - not a whiff of any signal which did not even show on the bar - although all other channels still pulled in quite nicely - some with less than 30% SS yet still most having 100% SQ and the rest still high SQ readings. On the same channels and using the same LNB The Humax shows 100% SQ and 95% SS with and 100% SQ and 100% SS without the attenuator.

    On the Manhattan today the signals for Ch4 and Film4 are still lowish (65% SS and 55% SQ) but they are not breaking up which is making me think there may have been an issue for some time but I've just not been aware of it until the breakup started.
     
  16. a33

    a33 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Satellite Setup:
    XSAT410
    Clarketech HD4100+
    My Location:
    NL
    Did you check on LOF instability of your LNB, where the one receiver might be more tolerant than the other?

    You can check by changing the standard values for a universal LNB in your receiver(s) from 9750 and 10600, to 9746 and 10596 (usually it changes in that direction), or maybe to 9754 and 10604.
    If in that case all is right again, the LNB-LOF has changed a bit. That is often also dependant on temperature, so people often notice the consequences in autumn and winter....

    Greetz,
    A33
     
    Lazarus likes this.
  17. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,390
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    A 30 second search on amazon brings up multiple C120 four port LNBs for under £30, whether they deliver to your location - for free or not - is another matter.
     
  18. joddle

    joddle Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
    My Location:
    Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
    Tried what you suggested but it only came up with Invacom LNBs - the cheapest quad being £75!
     
  19. PaulR

    PaulR Dazed and Confused Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    15,412
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    --------See sig--------
    My Location:
    Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
    This is no doubt the difference between Ebay.co.uk and Ebay.es surely?
     
  20. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,390
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors