Channel 4 on small dish?

gpage24

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
sky,Showtime,Supersports,Art,1.2 meter dish,Lacuna mk4 meter,Horizon ,satcatcher,
My Location
canary islands
Hi im living in tenerife and was told that channel 4 is available on a small dish,,, I have sky installed and using a 1 mtr dish and cant get channel 4,, some people are saying that it is possible to get ch4 from another satellite here on a smaller dish but cant find out any more, also is ch4 supposed to be going free to air? thanks in advance
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Hi, channel 4 is only broadcast from the 28E orbital location.

It already has gone FTA but I believe that there are FTV versions of it that the Sky boxes tune to. They appear to be coming from Astra 2A north, so you could still struggle with a 1m dish.

_http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/maps/astra2a_north.html
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
36
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
Yes, Channel 4 is now FTA, I'm not aware of it being broadcast on any satellite other than Astra2 @ 28 East
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,331
Reaction score
9,953
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
C4 & C4 +1 are both transmitted on the north beams of Astra 2A & 2B. Both beams are weak in the Canaries.

C4 is already fta - transmitting on Astra 2D which isnt available in the Canaries without a VERY big dish.

C4 isnt transmitted on any other satellites.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
gpage24 said:
Hi im living in tenerife and was told that channel 4 is available on a small dish,,, I have sky installed and using a 1 mtr dish and cant get channel 4,, some people are saying that it is possible to get ch4 from another satellite here on a smaller dish but cant find out any more, also is ch4 supposed to be going free to air? thanks in advance

This map _http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/maps/astra2a_north.html is not accurate for the Canaries.

North beam your looking at 1.2m with good LNb for Canaries. It does differ between the Islands. In Lanzarote a 1.2m is fine for North beam 28e :D
 

bigtee

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
465
Reaction score
18
Points
18
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Sky; Raven 90 multi-LNB 1W,5E, 7E, 9E, 13E 16E, 19E, 28E; 60cm Triax dish on Moteck SG2100 motor; Various Receivers
My Location
Kent, UK
Maybe OP just needs to scan the 10729V Transponder first (that on which channel 4 is called 8350 or so)?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
He can't pull in 2D with his 1mtr down there :-rofl2
 

BLUEPLATINUM

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
951
Reaction score
102
Points
43
Age
57
Location
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
My Satellite Setup
ITSarria LTE Internet, 2 X SKY HD, Invacom C120 quad LNB, Raven 2.4m offset dish, TDT (Spanish freeview)
My Location
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Analoguesat said:
C4 is already fta - transmitting on Astra 2D which isnt available in the Canaries without a VERY big dish.
Yes. They transmit on a vertically polarised transponder. We cannot receive these even with 2.4m Channel Master offset dishes or 3.2m prime focus dishes. I am not aware of anyone here receiving the Vs on 2D.
 

geoffreys

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
77
Website
Visit site
My Satellite Setup
Famaval 2.4m dish, Invacom 0.2dB LNB (single), Pace 430N
My Location
Famagusta District, Cyprus
Analoguesat said:
C4 & C4 +1 are both transmitted on the north beams of Astra 2A & 2B. Both beams are weak in the Canaries.

C4 is already fta - transmitting on Astra 2D which isnt available in the Canaries without a VERY big dish.

C4 isnt transmitted on any other satellites.

Could you please give us the 2B freq to receive C4+1 ?
Thanks
Geoff
Cyprus
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
C4+1: 2A North
12.480 V
27500
2/3

as per kingofsat
 

geoffreys

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
77
Website
Visit site
My Satellite Setup
Famaval 2.4m dish, Invacom 0.2dB LNB (single), Pace 430N
My Location
Famagusta District, Cyprus
satelliteman said:
C4+1: 2A North
12.480 V
27500
2/3

as per kingofsat

Tnx very much for that info,
Regards,
Geoff
 
Top