Community Broadband By Wireless

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Having mentioned in passing on a few related Topics of late my intention to bin my rural copper landline with 1Mbps ADSL (On a good day) in favour of a 20Mbps Community Broadband scheme part funded by North Yorkshire County Council, I have an installation appointment for this coming Monday.

Up front cost of £150 for the Installation and the Kit (A Duplex Antenna aligned to a local relay point - which happens to be about 60 metres away, so not anticipating any signal issues - plus cable run to a network socket and initial configuration and demonstration).

Getting a new Wireless n Cable Router and also a VOIP Adapter.

Much to play with.

Can't wait!
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Excellent stuff, G. It's a shame that more councils aren't doing the same in rural areas...
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Looking forward to hearing more about this.

Still waiting for FTTC to be enabled at my cabinet in Bucks, it's been put back another year (!) to Dec 2015...
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
I'm assuming this is similar to WiMax which here is usually an alternate offered to residents who are too far from the exchange to get any broadband speed. Recently in the village, a concrete pole has been installed which my expat friend and I have debated on being either a new electricity pole, a mobile phone mast or a WiMax relay. Time will tell I guess...(it's situated next to the cemetery so I'll refrain from saying it's in a dead spot.....oh damn, I've gone and said it now)....
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,766
Reaction score
8,642
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Having mentioned in passing on a few related Topics of late my intention to bin my rural copper landline with 1Mbps ADSL (On a good day) in favour of a 20Mbps Community Broadband scheme part funded by North Yorkshire County Council, I have an installation appointment for this coming Monday.

Up front cost of £150 for the Installation and the Kit (A Duplex Antenna aligned to a local relay point - which happens to be about 60 metres away, so not anticipating any signal issues - plus cable run to a network socket and initial configuration and demonstration).

Getting a new Wireless n Cable Router and also a VOIP Adapter....

A 100m drum of CT125 and a couple of connectors would be cheaper and in the long run, more reliable.
 

Attachments

  • Utility pole.JPG
    Utility pole.JPG
    38.3 KB · Views: 56
  • Utility Pole 3.jpg
    Utility Pole 3.jpg
    124 KB · Views: 53
  • Utility Pole 2.jpg
    Utility Pole 2.jpg
    466.1 KB · Views: 53

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Looks like India... or Nepal! I could actually touch the - thankfully, insulated - wire with my hand as it was about 2m above the ground...
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
My own Insulated Live and Bare Neutral (No Earth Wire) feed is only about 8ft off the ground.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Is there a useage cap on the community broadband, G?
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Is there a useage cap on the community broadband, G?

There's a small range of Packages:

Light is 5GB and 5Mbps @£15/mth
Medium is 20GB and 10Mbps @£20/mth
Heavy is Unlimited and 20Mbps Symmetrical @£25/mth
Business is as per Heavy plus a Static IP and daytime Priority @£35/mth

I'm starting on Medium and think that will more than suffice for my use.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Heavy also sounds like a good deal to me, I think that's what I would go for if it was available in Bucks. 20Mb up would be very nice and no phone line rental either.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
That's the thing: Currently my Line Rental Saver renewal comes in at £14/mth, with a discounted rate of £5.99 for ADSL, then there are Phone Call costs. The latest Broadband and Phone packages from PlusNet are far more expensive.

With the new system, I pay £20/mth for Broadband plus £2.40 to host my Ported Phone Number on Voipfone. Call costs are minimal @ 1.5p/min including most International and without the iniquitous "setup fee" <<<< How do BT etc. get away with that anyway?

And the clincher is never having to deal with a call centre.

@timo_w2s: Whilst researching how all this works, I discovered there is a surprisingly large number of Wireless delivered Broadband schemes around the UK, so maybe it's worth you doing a bit of Binging (Other Search Engines are available).
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
One of the nearby villages had their own wireless system up about 10 years ago when they got fed up waiting for their exchange to be ADSL enabled but that has now closed down as ADSL and now FTTC is available with good speeds. As far as I know there are no other schemes around here as generally there is no demand as most exchanges now have ADSL, FTTC and even Virgin Media. My problem is just my cabinet is taking a long time, everyone else has had fibre available for over a year. I only want fibre for the increased upload really.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I remember giving you my Plusnet Username so I could get a discount when you signed up. Fat chance of that now! :D
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Yes, so I guess when I get fibre in 2021 there won't be much point in giving them your username anymore...
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well, we might have moved by then and gone back to a conventional system!
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,766
Reaction score
8,642
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Well, we might have moved by then and gone back to a conventional system!

Our local charity shop has two ISDN terminal adapters (US Robotics) in the window, I could secure one for a fiver.
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
I was wondering the other night if ISDN is even still going, been a long time since I heard about anything ISDN related... :confused
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,034
Reaction score
4,051
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
I think ISDN30 is still around giving multiple phone numbers for largish organisations.
 
Top