Considering Motorised 100cm Dish, Is 75m of cable too long?

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Hi,

I did a search about cable length but I couldn't spot one where it talked about motorised dishes.

I have a 100cm dish with a Technomate motor, Sadly I cannot place it on the house and my garden faces North, So the only place that gets a full view of the satellite arc is at the end of the garden, 75 meters away from the room where I want it. I've read for these lengths WF125 cable is best but will it be able to still control the motor at 75 meters? The cable at that length is about £90 so I'd rather ask rather than just give it a try...

Thanks
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
If your situation allows it there is a cheaper alternative to your £90 WF125, have a look at Ebay: 160864710071 It's similar spec with a 1.25mm core but is also suitable for direct burial although bear in mind the thick PVC outer can make it awkward to work with as well as increasing the minimum bend radius. You'll also want to fit suitable F types Ebay: 130705178092 I'll let someone with practical experience say whether a motor will work OK but I've run similar lengths of decent coax and not had any issues with non motorised setups but can't be sure about current limiting over that length.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Oh that is much cheaper! And does that go straight in the ground? Or do you need to buy some piping to run it through?
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Yes, RBS types are suitable for direct burial into soil but dont expect to be able to clip it round corners on your skirting. If it's going on a diseqc motor you'll also need to consider whether it will snag the back of the dish when it's connected to the motor. I'm using this stuff from this seller on both my dishes and noticed quite an increase in SQ readings when switching from RG6.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Great thank you, It'll be a straight run up to the house, Room I want it in is on the garden side thankfully.

So now, Anyone know if the motor will work from 75 meters?

Appreciated!
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,590
Reaction score
3,821
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
mapperuo said:
Great thank you, It'll be a straight run up to the house, Room I want it in is on the garden side thankfully.

So now, Anyone know if the motor will work from 75 meters?

Appreciated!


Depends what you are driving the motor with and what kind of motor

the introduction of a motor will introduce a 3db loss on top of what losses you have from the 75 mtr length
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Topper said:
Depends what you are driving the motor with and what kind of motor

the introduction of a motor will introduce a 3db loss on top of what losses you have from the 75 mtr length

Hi, I have the Technomate 5402 HD box with Technomate TM-2300 motor.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,517
Reaction score
3,775
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
mapperuo said:
Great thank you, It'll be a straight run up to the house, Room I want it in is on the garden side thankfully.

So now, Anyone know if the motor will work from 75 meters?

Appreciated!

Depends on the motor, but a Technomate TM2300 takes 350mA maximum, add the LNB current consumption - maybe 150mA (if it's in circuit during motor operation), you are using ~500mA.

At a guess, resistance of1.25mm inner cable at 75 metres won't be much more than 2 Ohms, so -

Voltage drop = current taken (500mA) x 2 Ohms = 1V.

So in the worst case, you can expect to lose 1V from a 18V supply to the motor. Assuming you aren't experiencing resistance losses through your terminations.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Thank you. There won't be any breaks in the length of cable, So to me 1V sounds like an okay fluctuation but then again I've never used a motor before would I be right in assuming this? Or is it a case of just trying it.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,517
Reaction score
3,775
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
I don't use a DiSEqC motor (thank goodness), so I'll leave that to others.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Figure I'd update this incase someone like me wants the info.

Connected up 100 meters of the CT125 as linked above, I'm getting 98% signal on 28.2e and 67% signal on 10e which I found to be fairly weak. Thats with the motor attached. It works flawlessly, I can't notice a change in speed from the motor. I'm just blown away.. Can't wait to cut this stuff to the right length and see what I get.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,517
Reaction score
3,775
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
10E is not the easiest of catches and I rather think you are getting all you ever might.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Tivù said:
10E is not the easiest of catches and I rather think you are getting all you ever might.

Would suit me. The picture was flawless even at 67%.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Really appreciate all the advice here and the links to those cables, So pleased.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,637
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Is it PLTV HD you're viewing on 10E? 11387 V 30000 DVB-S2 8PSK 3/4
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Mickha said:
Is it PLTV HD you're viewing on 10E? 11387 V 30000 DVB-S2 8PSK 3/4

No I tried to find a HD channel high on the frequencies on 10e. I think it was APTN Direct HD I tested.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,637
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
PLTV HD is quite a strong signal, and currently open, using known biss keys, if you're interested in viewing PL games.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Mickha said:
PLTV HD is quite a strong signal, and currently open, using known biss keys, if you're interested in viewing PL games.

Thank you for the tip, Once I get this cable buried I'll have to start giving it a proper play. Won't lie.. Rather exciting. Nothing worse than sitting on a camp chair at the bottom of the garden in the cold.. Which is what I've resorted to recently.
 

mapperuo

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
497
Reaction score
492
Points
63
Age
29
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
Satellite Farm Revamp Underway
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Figure I'd add these incase anyone is researching into a simple install.. Might be of use.

It's a 2 inch diameter, 2 meter pole bolted with a patio stand to a large concrete slab we had lying around, It can barely be lifted with two guys so was ideal. Buried in the ground slightly towards the hedge to minimize wind, The hedge isn't at all in the way of the satellite arc, all in the other direction. Testing I could get 45e to 37.5w, probably try further when I'm inside and cozy warm but I'm pretty happy as is.

Cost wise:

Dish: £40
LNB: £10
Sat Tuner: £130
100m CT125: £44
Pole/Brackets/Bolts: £25
Motor: £35

Not going to be breaking barriers with it, but for someone who didn't know anything about satellites a month ago, I think I've done alright. :D
 
Top