Dead motor?

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
30
Location
Pärnu. Estonia
My Satellite Setup
1.6m Triax dish, 70cm Mutlibracket (1w, 4.8e, 9e, 13e, 19e, 23.5e) 70cm @ 22w and 1.5m motorised 27.5w-95e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia
Hi,

I've had a technomate motor for around about 2 to 3 years and it's did me well, however now it is getting stuck at either end of the arc and I have to manually push the dish while holding the movement button.

Do you think the gears internally are ruined or should I try using the reset when it's at 0?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,109
Reaction score
1,478
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
You can try, but it sounds like you may have shredded some gear teeth.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Yes, sounds like the motor is struggling. What size dish is mounted to it?
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,230
Reaction score
7,468
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Hope it's not the 1.5m he has listed in his system details :D
 

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
30
Location
Pärnu. Estonia
My Satellite Setup
1.6m Triax dish, 70cm Mutlibracket (1w, 4.8e, 9e, 13e, 19e, 23.5e) 70cm @ 22w and 1.5m motorised 27.5w-95e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia
It is the 1.5 however it states it can hold up to a 1.6 metre. If the motor has finally died I can replace it no problem. I don't think resetting at 0 will help as its now stuck at 85e and I can't seem to move it back even pushing it
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
What motor is it exactly?

If it's a receiver driven H-H DiSEqC, then you have been lucky to get 2 to 3 years ;)
 

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
30
Location
Pärnu. Estonia
My Satellite Setup
1.6m Triax dish, 70cm Mutlibracket (1w, 4.8e, 9e, 13e, 19e, 23.5e) 70cm @ 22w and 1.5m motorised 27.5w-95e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia
Technomate TM2600
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
iandoh said:
Technomate TM2600
Yep, not the best idea.
Replace with something that can handle the dish and wind loads.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,154
Reaction score
5,501
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
I would say, actuator to drive antenna and positioner in the room to control is better idea for 1,5m dish.
 

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
30
Location
Pärnu. Estonia
My Satellite Setup
1.6m Triax dish, 70cm Mutlibracket (1w, 4.8e, 9e, 13e, 19e, 23.5e) 70cm @ 22w and 1.5m motorised 27.5w-95e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia
RimaNTSS said:
I would say, actuator to drive antenna and positioner in the room to control is better idea for 1,5m dish.
Can't find an actuator here sadly. I checked everywhere. Sat shop has a motor suitable for up to 2.4m dishes but it doesn't have a brand or model number
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,154
Reaction score
5,501
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Go little bit more than 100km south, there you can purchase actuators and positioners :-beer Anyway, you have some plans to come to Latvia.
 

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
30
Location
Pärnu. Estonia
My Satellite Setup
1.6m Triax dish, 70cm Mutlibracket (1w, 4.8e, 9e, 13e, 19e, 23.5e) 70cm @ 22w and 1.5m motorised 27.5w-95e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia
I was in Latvia a few days ago, Looked around for some sat shop but couldn't find any. Riga is a confusing place with lots of drunks
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,154
Reaction score
5,501
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Yes, they do not sell actuators in the pubs, that is right. And also opposite. But, I am positive, there are some good places where to buy sat-equipment.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,230
Reaction score
7,468
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I am sure Riman can hook you up with a number of polar mounts and actuators from his warehouse ;)
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,154
Reaction score
5,501
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
That is also an option, but I have only second hand :-wow
 

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
30
Location
Pärnu. Estonia
My Satellite Setup
1.6m Triax dish, 70cm Mutlibracket (1w, 4.8e, 9e, 13e, 19e, 23.5e) 70cm @ 22w and 1.5m motorised 27.5w-95e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia
I've opened the motor up and other than the limiter wires being broken, I can't see an issue. What is the orange type paste stuff though?
 

Attachments

  • Sa8G0aL.jpg
    Sa8G0aL.jpg
    188.2 KB · Views: 73

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,230
Reaction score
7,468
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Orange stuff is a lubricant of some sort - a bit like oil for your car.
 

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
285
Reaction score
42
Points
28
Age
30
Location
Pärnu. Estonia
My Satellite Setup
1.6m Triax dish, 70cm Mutlibracket (1w, 4.8e, 9e, 13e, 19e, 23.5e) 70cm @ 22w and 1.5m motorised 27.5w-95e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia
Well that isn't all the way round. Also I've just driven the motor to 0 however the pipe reading is 0 but the internal gear is slightly more, maybe 7 degrees (the centre of the cog). Does that mean it's skipped a few of the teeth and maybe why I always had to align out of place?
 

Attachments

  • nGFBJdF.jpg
    nGFBJdF.jpg
    171.1 KB · Views: 73
  • 8cqUWMh.jpg
    8cqUWMh.jpg
    236.5 KB · Views: 73

Trust

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
988
Reaction score
1,473
Points
93
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
1.8 m CM at SMR 1224 + Elev. with 7 lnb changer Ku (lin - circ) - Ka (lin - circ) C (lin - circ)
My Location
Nijmegen Netherlands
iandoh said:
I've opened the motor up and other than the limiter wires being broken, I can't see an issue. What is the orange type paste stuff though?
The broken limiter wires ARE your problem !
At most of that kind of rotors there are 2 switches , one for the end (east and west) and the other one (Org) is switched on when turned to the east sector (or west sector , depending to the brand)
When you want to turn to the Org ( zero-point) and it was in east , the motor turns in west direction untill it leaves the org switch , than stops and turns back to east untill it reached the org-switch .
Coming from west it diretcly stops at the org-switch .
So with broken wires you cannot re-aline the rotor
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
I'm guessing you can just connect the red and yellow wires together and it'll bypass the limit switches. Might not be a good idea as your dish could end up in a wall.
 
Top