Did I damage my lnb?

memons

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Vu duo with motorized dish
My Location
ireland
Hi,
Can some one guide me please?
I have a motorized dish installed, which has quad lnb.
Last night I wanted to search some 33 satellites
redface.png
, it took around 8 hours to find some 4000+ channels.
- I have been using the dish on fixed 28.2 for year.
But now, if I switch to any channel, i just see the picture for few seconds and then it begins to break in pixelations and it hangs.
I wonder, if i have screwed the lnb? I dont think there is problem with position, or I would not be able to switch in between various channels.
Please advice
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
Have you considered with the wind we have been having that your dish may be out of alignment?

Astra 2 is very strong over all of the UK & Ireland so you can still get a picture even when the dish isn't pointing exactly on 28e.

If i do a blind scan of 26e i sometimes get some of the channels off 28e. It sounds like you are getting a picture when the dish gets to the desired satellite and then disapears when the dish goes slightly past it.

I would put this down to your alignment going out in all honesty.

Nano
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,400
Reaction score
8,148
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Totally agree with Nano.

If it's less than half a degree or so out in Azimuth, you can get it working for now by adjusting the Longitude value entered for USALS: Try adding a couple of tenths more and if that improves, alter a tenth at a time.

If it makes it worse, deduct a couple of tenths etc.

Best to physically put it right in the long run, but this is a workable palliative.
 

memons

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Vu duo with motorized dish
My Location
ireland
nanochickin said:
Have you considered with the wind we have been having that your dish may be out of alignment?

Astra 2 is very strong over all of the UK & Ireland so you can still get a picture even when the dish isn't pointing exactly on 28e.

If i do a blind scan of 26e i sometimes get some of the channels off 28e. It sounds like you are getting a picture when the dish gets to the desired satellite and then disapears when the dish goes slightly past it.

I would put this down to your alignment going out in all honesty.

Nano

Tivù said:
Totally agree with Nano.

If it's less than half a degree or so out in Azimuth, you can get it working for now by adjusting the Longitude value entered for USALS: Try adding a couple of tenths more and if that improves, alter a tenth at a time.

If it makes it worse, deduct a couple of tenths etc.

Best to physically put it right in the long run, but this is a workable palliative.

Thanks for the reply guys..
So how can I align it? I think i need a professional to do it or can i do it myself? I can reach the dish on roof though.
Thanks
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,400
Reaction score
8,148
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well it can't be very far out - and the fact it has shifted means some clamps are not tight enough (probably those holding the motor to the mounting pole).

So gently push it a couple of mm one way - if better, carry on.

If worse, you went the wrong way.

We are talking of the order of one degree, I guess: Not much at all!

Once happy, tweak those nuts!
 

memons

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Vu duo with motorized dish
My Location
ireland
Thanks a lot.. will try once the weather settles.
 

memons

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Vu duo with motorized dish
My Location
ireland
Weather is very bad here today. So may be when the dish was searching and moving may be wind would have displaced its position? is that possible?
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,400
Reaction score
8,148
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Searching or just static. No matter. Liable to shift!

We've all been there.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
The best bit is when the wind shears all the teeth off the gears :D

Been there a few yeras ago with my old Moteck SG2100a motor with Nylon gears. With the 1m dish that was attached to it and gusts upto 90mph it didn't stand a chance :-lmao
 
Top