Dish alignment

csp1000

Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to satellite and like many newbies here fed up with terrestrial TV or Murdoch TV. I have just tried setting up a dish at the back of my garden, dish is on a pole 35 metres from the reciever. I used a sat meter which showed strong reading when aimed at Astra 19 east, but reciever showed no signal. On the auto search it had about 75 % strength of signal but only 10% quality, the strength varied when the dish was moved, quality didn't. I concluded that it must be one of two things, either the house 45 metres away was blocking the signal (although i think an elevation of 28 degrees should have cleared it) or a cable length of 40 metres means the signal quality becomes to poor, is this possible? I live in East Anglia, and have a Technomate 5500 DACI. One other question, i presume this reciever should be picking up analogue and digital? also the signal on the sat meter is stronger at 22 kHz Mode. I find the instructions with the reciever quite poor in explaining things and any help would be greatfully recieved.

Thanks

G

guest user

csp1000 said:
Hi,