Dish size to get 7w Nilesat

D

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Messages
63
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
Hallo
these times i am interested in 7w but i m wondering about the dish size it should be to receive signal from that salattie?

I living in Danmark / Copenhagen,

Thanks all
 
sonnetpete

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator
Staff member
Messages
7,440
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
I have received 7W on a 1.2M dish here in Northern France. However in Denmark, you are well outside it's footprint. I'd imagine you'd need a dish of at least 2.4M and probably larger. We may have forum members nearer to you who could give better advice.
 
D

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Messages
63
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
Thanks and maybe i have to look after the Badr 4 at 26 if it needs a smallere dish?
 
N

Nalleman

Member
Messages
123
Location
Motala Sweden
My Satellite Setup
1,8 Channel Master, Black Pro LNB with CM feedhorn and VU+ DUO 2 and Vantage 8000 TS receivers. Fixed dishes at: 28,2/28,5 E (1,8 m), 19,2 E (1,5 m), 13 E (1,1 m), 9 E (1,8 m) and 1 W (1,2 m).
My Location
Sweden
Thanks and maybe i have to look after the Badr 4 at 26 if it needs a smallere dish?
Badr 4 - you will probably get stable reception with an 1,2 m. However this bird is almost 14 years old and nobody knows how long it will stay active.
 
RimaNTSS

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
4,990
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
@Dia M2030 What is the maximum dish size you are allowed to install at your place?
 
D

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Messages
63
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
@Dia M2030 What is the maximum dish size you are allowed to install at your place?
Now I have a 85*90 dish I've tried to get badr 4 but the reception is very week only get Dubai channels for few hours.
 
RimaNTSS

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
4,990
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
@Dia M2030 I asked abut maximum size of the dish to say something like: "Install the biggest dish you can" ! Then, for sure you will always be able to receive channels you are looking for.
 
D

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Messages
63
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
I think it is about one meter or something like that
 
RimaNTSS

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
4,990
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
So, then install "something like that" :rolleyes: and then you know you are at your limits.
 
D

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Messages
63
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
Yeah but my question is the one meter dish is it enough to get all channels from badr 4?
 
RimaNTSS

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
4,990
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
With 1m dish you will, for sure, get better reception than with 0.8m dish. Will 1m dish be enough to get all channels?! Probably not, but you will maybe get some.
 
D

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Messages
63
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
Hallo RimaNTSS,

I would like to know if its possible to get reception from E52,5 Yahsat with my current dish as 85*90
 
RimaNTSS

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Messages
4,990
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
@Dia M2030 go to satbeams.com and look footprints. But easiest way is to turn your antenna and see what you can get.
 

Attachments

D

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Messages
63
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
OK thanks i will try that, and another thing what do you think about the highlight frequency below is that any strong signal to try?
1585043704875.png
 
D

danny10

Regular Member
Messages
50
My Satellite Setup
Amiko Alien 2,E - 85,Famaval 110 ,IBU twin
My Location
Czech republik
MENA beam no chance..
 
Analoguesat

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Messages
47,882
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Skybox F3
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Hallo RimaNTSS,

I would like to know if its possible to get reception from E52,5 Yahsat with my current dish as 85*90

No chance since the solitary frequency on the European beam was turned off a few months ago.
 
Chr0nik

Chr0nik

Member
Messages
58
My Satellite Setup
TM-9100 Linux receiver,
TM-2100a Rotor,
80cm Dish (43w to 42e)
My Location
Brixton, London
I get around 7dB on Dubai One on Eutelsat 7 West A with a 110cm dish in SW Essex
 
Last edited:
Laser

Laser

Member
Messages
487
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Badr 4 - you will probably get stable reception with an 1,2 m. However this bird is almost 14 years old and nobody knows how long it will stay active.
I fear for the worst when Badr 4 is replaced. Other satellites at this spot are not easy to receive.
 
Top