Advice Needed Dual feed: 5W (main focus) + 13E - 90cm Triax dish

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
Hi guys, I just wanted to say hi to everyone, this is my first post, I'm a huge fan of satellite reception, anyway let's get to the point.
I live in Valle d'Aosta (Italy - Google maps link: https://www.google.it/maps/place/Valle d'Aosta/@45.7273524,7.3704382,10z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m2!3m1!1s0x4788ded6c5aff5a7:0x5625987c799cd59b?hl=it )
and I own a 60cm dish, I'd like to have a dual feed, with the 5W being the main focus, and the 13E being of course the secondary focus, meaning the LNB for the 5W will be right at the center, and the LNB for the 13E will be moved to the left.
Do you know if I'll be able to pull this off with a 90cm dish ?
I'm slightly worried about the dimension of the dish, though I must say that where I live you could probably receive the 13E with a 45cm dish.
That's also the reason why I though that the 13E should be the secondary focus and the 5W should be the primary, because reception for 5W is slightly more difficult than reception for 13E, but only slightly, since given that I live at the border with France I benefit from the 5W footprint.
Being my dish a Triax, this is the multifeed that I'll have to purchase:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Multifeed..._Ant_Sat_Ant_Installation&hash=item51c1f90c72

I hope someone with experience can give me some advice.
 
Last edited:

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Hello and welcome to the forum!

I have a TD88 (85cm) Triax dish with the same multifeed you link to. (My LNBs are looking at 28E/23E/19E/13E plus an extra one stuck on the side for 5E using an extra bracket)

To get both 5W and 13E you'd need to align the dish at something between the two satellites (say 5E or 1W) using the standard LNB holder and then place the multifeed on the dish with the two LNBs on either end of the multifeed bar and adjust it again for best signals from both satellites. I can't comment on how it would perform in real life, but that would be how I would set it up.

The multifeed bar isn't long enough to see 13E if the dish is aligned at 5W and the angle between the satellites would also mean it wouldn't work very well anyway. (Also it's not possible to place an LNB at the centre with this multifeed setup without modifying it)

Why not just use two smaller dishes since you already have a 60cm? If you've got the space I think you'd find it more reliable in the long run.
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
I live just over the border from you; in fact I generally come to your part of the world a couple of times a year :-) A T90 would do the job, although it's on the large side. Mine covers 45e to 5w, although the extremes aren't particularly strong. I have it centred on 19.2e.
 

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
I live just over the border from you; in fact I generally come to your part of the world a couple of times a year :) A T90 would do the job, although it's on the large side. Mine covers 45e to 5w, although the extremes aren't particularly strong. I have it centred on 19.2e.
that's funny because I hang out in Haute-Savoie at least 6-7 times a year, usually it's Sallanches, Annemasse and Geneva in Switzerland, anyway I was looking forward to someone who lives near me so that I can get a better idea as to what I can expect.
Thanks for your feedback, I'll feed the information that you just provided me into my satellite software and I'll get back to you to ask you some other information.
 

Journey

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
484
Reaction score
486
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
drx 890
My Location
UK
Really sorry for jumping on someone else's thread, but can i ask please what is worth having on 5w?

thanks
 

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
you're more than welcome to jump in my thread, actually what I want to watch on 5W is the bouquet Fransat, the whole french TV channels, you only need a specific receiver (www.fransat.fr) which also includes a card because the channels are encrypted, however there is no subscription apart from the purchase of the receiver.

Besides Fransat bouquet, you also have some french FTA channels, some subscription-only bouquets as BIS, which is, you guessed it, more french channels, and some italian channels transmitted in DVB-S2 multistream, which of course you can't watch unless you own some specific equipment.
That's pretty much it.

5W is basically almost all french channels, so unless you speak french, or you want to learn it, there is no reason to watch it.
In the past french TV used to transmit all the football world cup matches, now they don't anymore, not all of the them, still if you're a tennis fan you can watch Roland Garros.
 
Last edited:

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Yes, we watch the FTA French Channels on 5W quite often. Sadly TF1 is Encrypted on 5W, but can be obtained FTA on 9E (In its "Suisse" variant)
 

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
Yes, we watch the FTA French Channels on 5W quite often. Sadly TF1 is Encrypted on 5W, but can be obtained FTA on 9E (In its "Suisse" variant)
well actually the swiss version is probably better, I was told that the TV series and the movies come in two languages, french and the original language, which is usually english, instead on 5W you don't get that choice.
Still, if you purchase a Fransat receiver, you get the whole channels, which you don't get on 9E
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
well actually the swiss version is probably better, I was told that the TV series and the movies come in two languages, french and the original language, which is usually english, instead on 5W you don't get that choice.
Still, if you purchase a Fransat receiver, you get the whole channels, which you don't get on 9E
I can confirm this regarding Swiss TF1, great *if* you want to watch endless US pseudo-forensic shows in all their English-language glory :-)

There is also tntsat on 19.2e available on a similar basis.
 

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
the thing is that TNTSAT on 19.2E comes with a card that expires after 4 years, you'll then have to purchase the card after the expiration.
Even Fransat card comes with a disclaimer, that the card will be deactivated as soon as it'll be pirated, however given the extremely high level of encryption in this day and age I can safely say it won't happen, last time I checked they didn't succeed in decrypting the signal.
Nowadays more and more people are turning to cardsharing, that's probably why we haven't witnessed any advances in piracy.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
the thing is that TNTSAT on 19.2E comes with a card that expires after 4 years, you'll then have to purchase the card after the expiration.
Even Fransat card comes with a disclaimer, that the card will be deactivated as soon as it'll be pirated, however given the extremely high level of encryption in this day and age I can safely say it won't happen, last time I checked they didn't succeed in decrypting the signal.
Nowadays more and more people are turning to cardsharing, that's probably why we haven't witnessed any advances in piracy.




Card sharing is Piracy, for the most part.
 

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
Card sharing is Piracy, for the most part.
of course it is, and the worse part is that so many websites are flourishing, for like 10 € you get all the channels you want, even a noob could do it, and I guess that the servers are located far away, the company is probably located in a different country from the server's, and that's why they are harder to get.
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
the thing is that TNTSAT on 19.2E comes with a card that expires after 4 years, you'll then have to purchase the card after the expiration.
You can get a new one for 15EUR or so (well, you can if you have a French address :) ). Have never got it to work with my solo2, though.
 

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
yeah, it's not expensive if you think about it, still I don't have a french address and I decided to get a Fransat receiver which gives me the peace of mind that the card will be valid for years to come, hopefully.
Badger, I was thinking, I'm asking you since you live next to me, and next to the border with Switzerland. Do you know if you can catch swiss DVB-T over there ?
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
yeah, it's not expensive if you think about it, still I don't have a french address and I decided to get a Fransat receiver which
OK, but if needs be this could be worked around.... :)

Badger, I was thinking, I'm asking you since you live next to me, and next to the border with Switzerland. Do you know if you can catch swiss DVB-T over there ?
I don't have an antenna set up for this, but my neighbour 40m away does. Am about 20km from border near Bonneville. You can get transmitter locations and signal strengths from tnttest.org, which gives data for dvb-t from neighbouring countries as well as France.
 
Last edited:

andrea89

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Triax 90 cm + Cobra Lince
My Location
Italy
OK, but if needs be this could be worked around.... :)


I don't have an antenna set up for this, but my neighbour 40m away does. Am about 20km from border near Bonneville. You can get transmitter locations and signal strengths from tnttest.org, which gives data for dvb-t from neighbouring countries as well as France.

unfortunatelt I just found out what T90 means, it means it's kind of a special dish designed to receive several satellites which are far away from each other, however I own a simple satellite dish, I noticed that you have an azimut of approximately 30° on each side of the central satellite, there is no way I'll achieve this kind of angle with my dish.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Not sure what you mean by 30 degrees either side of central as that would cover 60 degrees of arc. You are looking to cover 18 degrees (5W to 13E) Look at the picture of my Triax TD88. It covers from 42E on the extreme left to 19E on the right, a spread of 23 degrees. What you are trying for is pretty doable...
Triax.JPG
 

Hughes

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
222
Reaction score
61
Points
28
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
Humax Foxsat HDR, Samsung Sky+ HD, Skybox, Fransat HD box, Fransat SD box
Several dishes up to 150cm, receiving 28E 26E 19E 13E 9E 5W
My Location
Lugo, Galicia, Spain
A few observations on French TV as seen from Galicia. I have Fransat on 5 West, reception of which is difficult. TF1 and M6 Suisse on 9 East are great. I think Suisse just means they have Swiss adverts some of the time. Also sometimes the English soundtrack appears to be on the SD variant, and not the HD. My latest find is TV5 Mahgreb Orient on 26 East in HD.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Reception difficult?

How so - the Ku Band Superbeam and Widebeam are massively strong throughout Europe, including the entire Iberian Peninsula.

A 60cm dish should be ample.
 

Hughes

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
222
Reaction score
61
Points
28
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
Humax Foxsat HDR, Samsung Sky+ HD, Skybox, Fransat HD box, Fransat SD box
Several dishes up to 150cm, receiving 28E 26E 19E 13E 9E 5W
My Location
Lugo, Galicia, Spain
I thought that might arouse your curiosity! My set-up consists of a Televés offset 120cm dish, which I think performs very well. On the end of the arm is a newish Inverto Black Ultra twin LNB. One of the feeds goes to a Skybox via an 8 way DiSEqC switch. Reception is OK with a signal quality of 72-74, for what that is worth. I receive the FTA French and Berber channels, including the many radio stations. The other feed goes straight to a Fransat HD box. Some channels, especially HD are quite robust, but many, such as France 4 are liable to freeze momentarily, and disappear as soon as it rains, which is not uncommon here! The radio channels, which are on quite high frequencies, have never worked. I think the receiver is not particularly sensitive. In the old analogue days the signal did seem a lot stronger. Any thoughts?
 
Top