ER2 error on positioner

shills

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
90cm Fibo with Invacom Quad lnb, Jaeger smr-128g motor, Vbox2 positioner & Spiderbox HD9000 receiver.
My Location
Barnsley, UK
Hi, any help with the following issue would be greatly appreciated.

I have the following:

Fibo 90
Jeager smr-128G motor
Vbox 2 positioner
Spiderbox HD9000

I've had the above set up for a couple of years now, but recently an issue with the dish not moving from West to East has been happening intermittently.
It always seemed to clear itself, but a couple of days ago it happened again and the dish refuses to move from West to East when selecting satellites on the receiver.

It will move East to West by selecting a sat position on the receiver.

When a West to East move is attempted ER2 shows on the positioner, this happens when you use the manual buttons as well as using the spiderbox.

I have replaced the reed switch in the 128G with a spare I had, that made no difference.
I tested the reed switch with a meter and when the magnet is placed against it the circuit is made, if I spin the magnet the reed switch opens and closes.
I have tested the continuity of the wiring from the positioner to the motor and that is ok.

Now if I swap over the DC wires and press the "move West" button, the dish moves to the East.
If I press the "move East button the dish does not move & the ER2 message appears.

So the motor is able to move either way, but the positioner does not work on the "move East button".

Does this indicate that the positioner has a fault, i hope so because they are aesy to replace but a good 36v motor is getting to be a rare item.

Cheers guys,

Steve.
 

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,047
Reaction score
53
Points
48
Normally these problems are caused by the motor or wiring, but you have eliminated that as a cause.

All I can suggest is that you reset the vBox and reinstall from scratch. Annoying to have to do all that again, but I can't think of any other answer.

If you do take this step I strongly recommend that you set east/west limits both manually within the motor using the cams, and then ALSO electronically when you install the vBox.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Does the dish start moving before displayed E2? If it does, then the motor itself is not at fault but the sensing mechanism or cabling. It seems intermittent, so make sure that there's good contact with cables everywhere. It could be that the positioner is developing some dry joints causing intermittent faults.
 

shills

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
90cm Fibo with Invacom Quad lnb, Jaeger smr-128g motor, Vbox2 positioner & Spiderbox HD9000 receiver.
My Location
Barnsley, UK
Thanks Guys,

I tried doing a reset on the postioner.

Dish was still pointing at 28.2e so I saved that on the Spiderbox.
Then used spider to move dish to 19.2 and saved that position - so far so good.

Tried to move back to 28.2 using spider and nothing happened - checked the positioner (it's
in a different room) and Er2 was showing.
Only way to get dish back to 28.2 was to swap motor output wires and use the "move West" button on the positioner.

It does look like the "Move East" function in the positioner is kaput, by swapping the wires over and manually pressing
"Move West" will get the dish to move East.
So for the time being I know I can still get at all my Sats, just it's a right royal pain.

Steve.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Right, can you whip your meter out and measure the voltages on the east and west connections? Both on the positioner and at the motor end.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
It's a sticky relay in the V-box.
 

shills

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
90cm Fibo with Invacom Quad lnb, Jaeger smr-128g motor, Vbox2 positioner & Spiderbox HD9000 receiver.
My Location
Barnsley, UK
Cheers Captain & Huevos,

Captain, are you asking me to check on the sensor or 36v wires and across the termials or between each terminal and ground ?

Thanks,

Steve.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Across the 36V terminals. They should swap polarities between east and west. But if the problem is, like Huevos says, with the relay then you'll only get a reading going one way. Open the VBox up and tap the relays - it should temporarily "unstick" it.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Ah, yes: Yet another job for the Manchester Screwdriver!
 

shills

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
90cm Fibo with Invacom Quad lnb, Jaeger smr-128g motor, Vbox2 positioner & Spiderbox HD9000 receiver.
My Location
Barnsley, UK
Got it sorted now thanks guys.

Did the testing with my meter, but was inconclusive - polarity did swap when East or West button was pressed.
Tried tapping relays - no change.

Decided to spend 23 of my precious Yorkshire pounds on a new positioner.
Got an Alsat V-Box 400 off fleaBay and am happy to report that is working fine.

Cheers

Shills
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,104
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Good result - not too expensive and should provide years more service.
 
Top