first time

tommo2

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
motorised/technomate receiver/dish 80cm
My Location
galway/eire
need help with setting up motorised system. lat-53 long-(-9.1111)
Tm52000d/80cm dish/sg2100.Any offers please?
 

tommo2

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
motorised/technomate receiver/dish 80cm
My Location
galway/eire
Hi rolf have read your pictorial with interest.What sat could I use for reference here in galway for due south?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire

tommo2

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
motorised/technomate receiver/dish 80cm
My Location
galway/eire
Hi Rolf Thanks for info. Erected dish at long(-9.111).Pointed dish at astra19.2E to test for signal.Put dish on wall facing (10ft-h) east about 12m at rear of house(2 storey dormer)Signal strength 75% quality 20%.Picture but no sound.Tried all elevations and angles to improve the situation.Using led strength meter with portable tv.What can I do to get a better picture with sound?52000d/receiver--lemon .2db universal lnb/80cm technomate dish.
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Hi Tommo2,

Not sure how you are managing to get a picture with only 20% quality.
It is the quality figure that you need to pay attention to.

One way to get the dish adjusted correctly without a professional meter is to use the meter in the receiver.

Go to motorised settings and pick a strong transponder from 19.2E, then CAREFULLY adjust dish for maximum quality. The dish needs to be pointed fairly accurately, just making very small movements.

When you get a good quality reading, do a single transponder scan using Advanced Search.

Pick a transponder from lyngsat.com that shows FTA channels, such as 12545H, which should be a strong signal where you are.

If the dish is mounted on a vertical pole, the elevation scale on the back of the dish should be set to approx 24* for your location for Astra 19E.

Robbo:)
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
36
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
I'm just about 2 degrees north of you on the same longitude (nearly) and I get a pretty good signal from 8W so, you should have no problem using it as a reference as rolfw suggested, as long as your line of sight is clear.
 

tommo2

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
motorised/technomate receiver/dish 80cm
My Location
galway/eire
HI ROBBO 71 .Have just received your very helpful message and as soon as I can carry it out I will get back to you and tell you of progress being made.This is my first time on motorised dish so the learning curve is pretty steep.
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
The bigger the dish, the more accurately it has to be aligned. Once you have practised and thus mastered that procedure for a strong satellite like 19E, getting the motorised system installed is just one little step further.

As long as you pay attention to detail, like getting the mounting pole 100% vertical, and setting the elevation scale on the motor correct, the adjustment process is almost identical to a fixed dish, except that you have to send the dish to the satellite first (USALS is easiest) and the azimuth adjustment is done by swinging the whole assembly around the pole.
The dish itself must always stay centred on the motor output shaft.
:)
 

tommo2

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
motorised/technomate receiver/dish 80cm
My Location
galway/eire
hi everybody.When a diseqc motor(sg2100)" has go to X" does that mean it is "USALS" compliant?
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
tommo2 said:
hi everybody.When a diseqc motor(sg2100)" has go to X" does that mean it is "USALS" compliant?


Yes, Goto X should work with USALS. Two versions of the same thing I believe,
 
Top