1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

German Power Plug

Discussion in 'Tech Head - The Technology Section' started by HB13DISH16, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    The cost of the hot plate doesn't mean they are of bad quality. Hot plates last around two to three years in my kitchen. They work very hard and I don't mind replacing them even every year.
    The adapter looks like it can last a lifetime.
     
  2. hvdh

    hvdh Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    2,373
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dr.HD F16, TBS 6925, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
    My Location:
    Oss, NL (5.53 E 51.77 N)
    While I was frequently in Israel, a few years ago, I recall there was a 50/50 % chance to get the laptop (Euro) plug rammed into an Israeli socket!
    In hotels the sockets were "prepared" already by previous guests. :D
     
  3. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    "For Terryl"!
    A quick scan from an old copy of the Handbook to the US National Electrical Code, Article 210, on "Attachment Plugs and Receptacles" (plugs and sockets to the rest of us") to illustrate the "variety" of US plug configurations - the first page is for normal "push-in" plugs, and the second (sorry it's upside down!) is for the "push in and twist" locking varieties for more secure connections.

    Just a few then! - standardise that lot down to just ONE single design (in your dreams!)

    PS: if anyone wants a higher definition version then I can do that - but these pages are good enough for most people to get the general idea :D.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Terryl

    Terryl Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
    And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

    Custom built PC
    My Location:
    Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
    I'm not talking about the part that plugs into the wall, but the other end, they should make all electrical equipment with the standard PC power supply input (IEC-C13) this way all you need is the correct power cord for your location.
     
  5. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    Unfortunately that was far less than clear from your post in question - the C13 is one of the small variety of appliance couplers and matching appliance inlets in IEC standard 30620, which IS a widely accepted and used Worldwide safety standard for such components.

    They are used in a huge variety of household equipment, both appliances and electronic equipment, but it is up to the manufacturers to decide whether they are both suitable and economic (and it costs a lot more to fit them than some comparatively cheap cord bush & grip components) to use in any specific product, and a so very large proportion of those don't utilise 60320 inlets & plugs.

    Also, price-conscious domestic appliances are often made in very large quantities for specific national markets - which often have their own national mains plugs fitted to the power cords/leads - and that means that it is far more economic for the manufacturers to fit those products with permanently-attached cords &, thus, plugs. OTOH, on lower volume products, notably electronic ones, designed for multiple markets, then detachable cordsets with a variety of national plugs are far more common (people should check their own appliance and electronic equipment to confirm how true that is).
     
  6. 2cvbloke

    2cvbloke Bulbs need shelter too...

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,913
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
    My Location:
    Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
    We tried that in the UK with the "Kettle plug", which was a variation on the C13 plug, known as the C15 (and C15A for higher temperature appliances), but the world wouldn't take it up so, meh... :p
     
  7. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    Something I forgot to mention last night, and it's particularly relevant to N.America:
    - That continent has multiple levels of domestic/commercial premises voltage supplies and it is quite common to find both 110-120V sockets (for equipment up to 1250W) and 220-240V (for equipment up to 2500W - e.g. portable heaters, washing m/cs & so on). Therefore, what do you think would happen if a 110-120V product with an appliance inlet, and supplied with the correct cordset and plug, was later accidentally fitted with a cordset with a 220-240Vplug and then plugged into a 220-240V socket? "Woosh, Bang, OOH Nasty" comes to mind! :D
     
  8. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    I sent a message to Amazon Germany Customer Services and asked how would replacing the power plug affect my warranty and their answer is

    "Should you decide to cut the plug in order to test appliance, you will no longer be eligible for warranty. Therefore, I would kindly ask you to buy adaptor in order to prevent this."

    I will decide what to do when the appliance arrives.
    I will not buy an adapter, but will consider testing it first using Paul's suggestion.
    If all is well, then I will cut the plug and replace it with a local one before I give it to my family member.
     
  9. 2cvbloke

    2cvbloke Bulbs need shelter too...

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,913
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
    My Location:
    Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
    They'd trip the breaker and go "WTF?", then ask someone who knew better and say "D'oh"... :)

    But that said, they'd have to be a pretty big dope to attach something designed for 120v to the only 240v outlets in the house (usually the Dryer & Water heater outlets, the former being wired to supply 120v and 240v simultaneously), which would kind of be an obvious fail... :-doh
     
  10. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    I decided to make a cable adapter using a local power plug at one end and a Schuko socket at the other end like the one shown below.
    This way I will not need to cut the original appliance plug, and adhere to safety standards
     

    Attached Files:

    skomedal and st1 like this.
  11. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    try to dry the baby in the microwave? Yes, there are plenty of people in the US and elsewhere who are totally ignorant of "anything electrical" and that means "if they can, then they will" as far as plugs in sockets are concerned - just think of the recent surveys in the UK that showed that the vast majority of modern men don't even know how to wire up a 13A plug.

    Anyway, much as I hate to admit it, HB13dish16's "final solution" is probably the best he can do for now - at least until the Warrantee expires and he can put the correct Israeli plug on the appliance power cord.
     
  12. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    21,880
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    When you say 'modern'........


    [​IMG]
     
  13. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    Deutsche Herren, nicht wahr? Were they as dim and twisted as some over here (albeit that the music was good, and loud (one or two Hawkwind LPs around somewhere). :D
     
  14. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    Actually a better solution would be to change the wall socket in the kitchen to a Schuko one, but my relative is not going to like it.
     
    st1 likes this.
  15. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    Relatives, Relatives - they never know what's best for them, and always a pain in the proverbial! :-lol
     
  16. Terryl

    Terryl Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
    And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

    Custom built PC
    My Location:
    Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
    One other idea, make a pigtail adapter.

    Find an old appliance and cut off the power cord, (power rated for what you want) attach the correct German socket (if you can find one) to the cut off end and your done.

    Or order an extension cord from Germany, then cut off the plug end and replace it with one of your type.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
    HB13DISH16 and st1 like this.
  17. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    This is what I intend to do please see post #30
    The extension cable is too expensive including shipment. I ordered 4 Schuko sockets from ebay for only Euro 13 including shipment.
     
  18. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    21,880
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East

    I might post my 'shocking' experiences of Hawkwind in the Hifi thread later, if I can drag myself from the socket.

    AC/DC ooooerrrrrrr :eek:
     
  19. Terryl

    Terryl Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
    And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

    Custom built PC
    My Location:
    Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
    The internet is very spotty right now due to another major storm blowing through, my last post about the pigtail I tried to post before #30 popped up.

    Sooooo Sorry about that.
     
    HB13DISH16 and st1 like this.
  20. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    Thanks Terryl for trying to help. I really appreciate it.
    Take care.
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors