Getting encryted channel on DVB-s Card

Genie

Make a wish
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
81
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
DM800 with 320GB HDD running Nabilosat 0.12
1 metre motorised dish. Intel core i7 920 PC
My Location
London
Does anyone know if and how it is possible to get non FTA channels on a Hauppauge DVB-s card. Is there some software out there that can do it, or will I need to get a CI module and smartcard.

Any help is appreciated
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,010
Reaction score
1,418
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
[updated:LAST EDITED ON 26-Oct-01 AT 06:45 PM (GMT)]Unfortunately the latter is the case Genie. The alternative is a Cam and season interface with a software decryption program.

Rolf
 

Genie

Make a wish
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
81
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
DM800 with 320GB HDD running Nabilosat 0.12
1 metre motorised dish. Intel core i7 920 PC
My Location
London
I've also heard you can get CAMS which can be flashed and allow you to watch encrypted channels without a card. Anyone know what cam this might be.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,010
Reaction score
1,418
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Yes, have a look at the Cams and Decoders forum, there are several threads on this, but beware, the flashable cams are now quite expensive.

Rolf
 

verywiseguy

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7020
My Location
Malaysia
Check this link for flashable Irdeto CAM http://www.satellites.co.uk/scripts/webforum/DCForumID14/210_2.html Old specs CAM is available again.

And this link for running DVB-S PCI for pay TV without a CAM & card http://www.satellites.co.uk/scripts/webforum/DCForumID36/41.html
 
Top