Gibertini 1.5M with CM feedhorn

superman617

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
SKY HD, SONY 40 inch HD, 1.5M dish, Invacom C120 quad, CM feedhorn, Promax TV explorer
My Location
mallorca
Hello everybody,

I live in Mallorca and I have just bought a 1.5M Gibertini dish to use for Astra 2 reception.

After much research and reading some great posts on this forum I decided to also buy an invacom C120 quad LNB and a CM feedhord.

I am just waiting for the CM feedhorn from the UK before I can begin installation but would like to know if anyone has any experience installing these together (or have any pictures).

I understand the F/D for the Gibertini is 0.66 and so is the channel master feedhorn?

Any comments would be much appreciated!!

Superman617
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
With the feedhorn will come two semi- circular plastic adaptors, place these towards the front of the feedhorn so that the whole assembly is seated some way back.
This is essential in weak reception areas as the FD of the dish is slightly longer than that of the feedhorn, which is 0.6
The obvious choice, placing the rings in the middle or point of balance, is the wrong one.
The LNB and feed will tend to fall backwards so the bolts of the holder on the dish arm will have to be pretty tight. Don't forget to set skew, and a further refinement is a rain shade made from transparent plastic (like a shade on a telescope) to keep raindrops off the feedhorn cover. Some say you can spray it with silicone to have the same effect.
When it is correctly set up, this dish gives really good performance.
Don't do what I did when I first set it up and mount the main arm upside down..
 

superman617

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
SKY HD, SONY 40 inch HD, 1.5M dish, Invacom C120 quad, CM feedhorn, Promax TV explorer
My Location
mallorca
Hi Snap,

Thanks for very much for this info. I received the dish from a freind late last night and its not a Gibetini!!!

I have no idea what make this dish is? it has no markings on it whatsoever?

My second question for you is do you know the equation to work out the F/D of this rouge dish?

I will post a picture when I assemble it today (I hope)

Thanks in advance!

Superman
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
Someone may know the formula. If it an offset dish it won't be very much different from 0.6.
I may be able to recognise which make it is from a photo.
 

superman617

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
SKY HD, SONY 40 inch HD, 1.5M dish, Invacom C120 quad, CM feedhorn, Promax TV explorer
My Location
mallorca
Hi Snap,

I have attached a picture of the recently installed dish.

I know this is a really long shot but I did notice it had some tape around the feedarms which said FTE. I have been on the FTAmaximal website but they dont make a 1.5...........

Your help is much appreciated!!!!!:-worship

Superman617
 

Attachments

  • home dish.jpg
    home dish.jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 405

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
The one on the left is a Gibertini 1.5m without any doubt at all. I used to own one. They have no manufacturers markings.
 

superman617

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
SKY HD, SONY 40 inch HD, 1.5M dish, Invacom C120 quad, CM feedhorn, Promax TV explorer
My Location
mallorca
Hi snap.

Just finished installing the dish and its working like a champ! I am receiving everything (yes everything) all day and all night, I have never heard of that before on a 1.5, normally people say channel 4 or ITV drop out but nothing! The weather heres terrible too and its still booming in.

Just like to say thankyou to everyone on the forum for all of their work (I have read almost every thread!), and thanks to snap, i owe you a beer if your ever in mallorca.

Attached is a picture of the new install (minus cable) its been raining all day!

Never thought I would get so exicted about a satellite dish :-rofl2

Superman617
 

Attachments

  • Home dish 2.jpg
    Home dish 2.jpg
    43.8 KB · Views: 256

Cala d'or

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
39
Reaction score
9
Points
8
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
Triax 70cm , Sky hd in uk . CM 1.2 & 1 m at work various stbs for footy , 1.8m Prodelin in Mallorca and foxsat HDR
My Location
Lancs uk , Mallorca Spain
Hi , I am interested to read about your system . I ,as you have probably guessed , have a system in Cala d'or , Mallorca . I have inherited a Gibertini 1.2 dish with a smart titanium lnb and I get good pics , but yes some of the channels do drop out ,and with heavy rain about, I lose it all .
I was considering doing exactly what you have done ,only at present I do not have HD.
Have you had any dropout problems even when the dark clouds gather and also what part of the island are you from ? Any info would be useful , also have you had good performance whilst watching HD. Thanking you in anticipation .

Cala d'or
 

superman617

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
SKY HD, SONY 40 inch HD, 1.5M dish, Invacom C120 quad, CM feedhorn, Promax TV explorer
My Location
mallorca
Hi Cala Dor,

No need to ask where you are!! Im in Costa de la Calma. When the weather is really bad (like the storm the other week) i do lose a few channels but thats life i suppose, to be expected on the fringe of the 2D footprint.

If you need any pointers or i can be of any help please give me a shout, SKY is very important to our WAGS!

Superman617
 

Delh68

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
WIn XP, Sky digibox
My Location
Warks
Sorry to drag up an old thread, but my sister lives in Majorca (near Felanitx) & is using a 1m dish at the mo for uk tv reception:eek:

Can i ask where, & for how much, you got the 1.5m dish?

Thanks
Delh68
 

superman617

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
SKY HD, SONY 40 inch HD, 1.5M dish, Invacom C120 quad, CM feedhorn, Promax TV explorer
My Location
mallorca
Hello,

I got the dish from a place in palma called redi. If you google the name redi mallora it shows you where this is.

The dish cost 300 euros and the LNB and feedhorn cost around 170 euros (I bought the LNB and feedhorn on the internet they dont sell these at redi)

I would strongly recommend buying the same equipment as I did, everywhere you look in mallorca you see 1.5 and 1.8M dishes with a 10 euro LNB strapped to the front.

Fools.

Cheers, Superman617
 

Vic

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
no
My Location
Slovakia
Dear all,

Would this setup properly work in Slovakia? Any other/better advice? Thanks.

Regards,
Vic
...I live in Mallorca and I have just bought a 1.5M Gibertini dish to use for Astra 2 reception. After much research and reading some great posts on this forum I decided to also buy an invacom C120 quad LNB and a CM feedhorn...
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,026
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Vic said:
Dear all,

Would this setup properly work in Slovakia? Any other/better advice? Thanks.

Regards,
Vic

In Slovakia to have proper Astra 2D reception on both polarities you should consider to install a bigger dish. Better have a look at _http://web2.dxsatcs.66.sk/php66/index.php?str=49.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
superman617 said:
I would strongly recommend buying the same equipment as I did, everywhere you look in mallorca you see 1.5 and 1.8M dishes with a 10 euro LNB strapped to the front.

Fools.
After experimenting with this for the last month I've found the opposite to be true. A Darkgold single lnbf seems about the best so far. To test the signal level and quality I've been using a Satcatcher Excel-TV, a Lacuna DSM and a Vantage receiver. Best position with the CM feedhorn and Invacom quad was right up against the bracket, but I can't find any position where it can beat the Darkgold lnbf.
 

Willardski

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
50
My Satellite Setup
Humax Foxsat HD+??
My Location
Son Reus.Mallorca.
superman617 said:
Hello everybody,

I live in Mallorca and I have just bought a 1.5M Gibertini dish to use for Astra 2 reception.

After much research and reading some great posts on this forum I decided to also buy an invacom C120 quad LNB and a CM feedhord.

I am just waiting for the CM feedhorn from the UK before I can begin installation but would like to know if anyone has any experience installing these together (or have any pictures)

Superman617

Hello I live just outside Palma.Would this set up work with a Humax Foxsat HD I just aquired? If not does anyone know a Dish + LNB setup that works well with the Humax
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Willardski said:
Hello I live just outside Palma.Would this set up work with a Humax Foxsat HD I just aquired? If not does anyone know a Dish + LNB setup that works well with the Humax
It should work fine but I'd forget the Invacom and and Channel Master C120 feed and buy yourself an Inverto Black Ultra LNB. It will perform better and save you at least 150€.

For the non-believers!
 
Top