Heavy duty polar mount for Primesat 1.8m dish C/M modifiation

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Hi, has anyone done a mod on this mount please, the CM mount works out at £420 the above one is £230, the only difference I can see is the plate that fixes to the dish, looks like an easy fabrication job to me ?. the round one is the cheaper one,

CM1.8.PNG primsat 1.8.PNG
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,226
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I'd say you're right... Still a bit expensive for what it is. I would try adapting a 1.2m CM polar mount to fit a 1.8.. I am sure I've seen it done.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
After further reading CJ there is an adaptor for the 1.2 polar mount for the 1.8, but I would prefer to use the more heavy duty if I get the dish, just trying to cost items up just in case and try and save a few pounds,
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,174
Reaction score
7,302
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
The 1.8m is a heavy reflector and requires a stable platform to get the best out of it. Don't believe for a second that anything that works on a 1.8 prime focus aluminium reflector is going to be workable, nor survive for more than the first gale on a fibreglass offset dish.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
The 1.8m is a heavy reflector and requires a stable platform to get the best out of it. Don't believe for a second that anything that works on a 1.8 prime focus aluminium reflector is going to be workable, nor survive for more than the first gale on a fibreglass offset dish.
Well tbh CH, I think they have just put £200 on the mount because its for a CM ? there is no difference apart from the mounting plate ?.
 
Last edited:

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,005
Reaction score
1,263
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Where is that mount for 230 available from?
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,226
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Martin, email PurpleSat and them for a price.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,109
Reaction score
1,478
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I would try adapting a 1.2m CM polar mount to fit a 1.8.. I am sure I've seen it done.

I've worked on a 1.2 CM mount adapted for a 1.8m and it is not stable enough, unless in a very sheltered position.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
I read crossbones post yesterday when he used the adaptor, and the dish was moving, if I am going to get the dish the job must be done correctly,

Thank you CJ, I have them bookmarked,
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Well I have been and viewed the dish, Its massive I did not realise what a beast this dish is, its a proper CM I did not get the code from the back but it does say CM on the back of her,

It would have to go at very low level more or less were my 1.2 dish is, my main concern is would it clear the fence to the east, the centre of the dish would be about 5mtr away from the fence, the fence is 5ft, and when the dish is facing about 57E the lnb and face of the dish would be pointing directly at the fence,

I guess I will have to set a temp dish up and do some test.
DSC_4499.jpg
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,226
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Very nice! Yes, it is a beast. My Gibby, which is still in the garage, is a beast - size difference is quite large on the eyes. Your dish is as wide as I am tall (1.83m) - so I could lie flat on it. It's almost the size of my bed!
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
So is the dish yours Martin?
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
So is the dish yours Martin?
Ive been sat pondering remlap checking the best place to install it, I am quite sure I am going to get it now,
It will be a while before I will be able to get it up and running how I want it but it can sit in the shed until founds permit.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,469
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
You're just doing everything you can to avoid the gardening, innit?
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
You're just doing everything you can to avoid the gardening, innit?
:-lol Tivu, I cant do anything in the garden until my dishes are all in place, then I can build my garden around the dishes, if there is any room left:)
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,649
Reaction score
674
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Have you considered the Jeager SMR 1224, or even better the Jaeger SMR 1224 EL, if you can get hold of one.
I think it could handle a 1.8 M dish, it was quite a sturdy piece of kit, pity they stopped making them.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Have you considered the Jeager SMR 1224, or even better the Jaeger SMR 1224 EL, if you can get hold of one.
I think it could handle a 1.8 M dish, it was quite a sturdy piece of kit, pity they stopped making them.
Thanks mick I will take a look at them,
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,839
Reaction score
1,763
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
Well I have been and viewed the dish, Its massive I did not realise what a beast this dish is,
View attachment 61895

indeed --
i,m remembering when i went to collect mine , (bought second hand from a selling site called "loot" ) many years ago . i was shocked at the size and weight of the thing !!
fortunately mine came with its original full sized polar mount - and ground-stand.
it took me a while to sort out the site, and get it all up and running .
i,v never regretted buying it though - i,v had lots of enjoyment - experimenting - and altering the setup to include C band etc.
regards -----
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
indeed --
i,m remembering when i went to collect mine , (bought second hand from a selling site called "loot" ) many years ago . i was shocked at the size and weight of the thing !!
fortunately mine came with its original full sized polar mount - and ground-stand.
it took me a while to sort out the site, and get it all up and running .
i,v never regretted buying it though - i,v had lots of enjoyment - experimenting - and altering the setup to include C band etc.
regards -----
Could you point me to some pictures of you dish please nelson, yes there is plenty of options to play with it I guess, It will have to be all singing and dancing C band dual axis and a tracking system when I get the funds :)
 
Top