Help for complete novice!

G

Gilder

Hi,

As you will probably guess from what I am about to ask I am a complete novice to this, but here goes...

I have a Technomate 1500CI+ receiver with a standard Sky minidish (aligned to whatever Sky usually align their dishes to). It seems to pick up a number of channels on two of the Astra satellites and also Nilesat and Arabsat. When I do a blind search it brings up a large list of channels on these satellites, and the majority can be viewed. Some however just appear as a black screen (this is not because they are pay channels).

Could this be because my dish is not large enough?

Would I benefit from upgrading to a larger dish?

If so then I would quite like for it to be one of those transparent dishes (it has to go on the front of the house) so is there any particular setup that you would recommend?

Would this also be likely to pick up european channels or for this would I need a motorised dish?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Aidan

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You are ONLY picking up channels from 28E - (the "Sky" transmissions).

The reason why it appears you are picking up multiple satellites is that all the different Ku band satellites use the same frequency band so there is a lot of overlap in frequencies used.

You can see for yourself by comparing frequencies from Flysat:

_http://www.flysat.com/satlist.php

The frequencies may not be exactly the same, but receiver tuners will normally lock a signal even if its detuned by several MHz.

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
If you want more satellite choice you need either more dishes up (Ive got 5!) go motorised, or put more lnb's on an 80 or 90 cm dish.

G

Gilder

Thanks for your help... can you explain more about putting additional LNBs on a larger dish?