• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Help me with sky digital

Hello All

Well guys hope someone can help me here im new to this looking for some help and ideas well here goes

I live in a terraced area and my next door neighbour has a massive silver birch in the next garden that can not be cut its protected trouble is it effects my signal for my sky digital so when it blows even a little I do not get any signal can anyone help me at all with this its doing my head in I have some ideas

1. I get a bigger dish Im told this could help need some help where to get one no ideas what so ever

2. Get planning permission to have it put on my roof

Any help please

Many Thanks

Techz

P.S hope this is the right place on the forums if not please move admin/mod sorry

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Berkshire
Hello Techz, this is precisely the right place to voice your problem :)

If you are using a standard minidish, you should be able to mount it on the chimney without consent, as long as it does not exceed the height of the chimney.

A bigger dish will probably not solve your problem as the tree will still encroach on the line of sight, although moving it further to the side might.

rolfw

Staff member
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Berkshire
Where ie the dish, on the back or the front? you can always put it on a pole mount, if it is a terraced house with largish tiles, there is a tile mount so that you can actually mount it in the roof. there are also joist mounts available which mount through the tiles or slates.

rolfw

Staff member
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Berkshire
If you have a digital camera, take a few photos, then we can say what you need mount wise.