Help specifying what equipment I need

Granty666

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
Yet to be purchased, but will include Gilbertini 1.25 Antenna (fixed) with 3 or 4 LNB's Inverto or similar - This is where I need the advice. system will be in 65700 Haute Pyrenees SW France.
Pole mounted at ground level with clear field of sight a
My Location
67500 Haute Pyrenees, France
Hi I'm renovating a house in the SW of France and need help with specifying what i need.

Total newbie to multi-sat / big dish systems - as you'll discover.

Researching the WEB I've decided that a Gibertini 1.25M dish on a fixed 100mm pole mount at ground level, may suit my needs.

I'm planning to run the signal from the receiver(s)? to a Onkyo TX-NR3010 AV Receiver and HDMI to a Samsung UE65ES8000 TV.

My Wife wants some Sky packages and the UK free to air programmes (Astra 19.2E - i think).

I'd like the option of a couple of other satellites, If I purchase the Gibertini 4 LNB multi-mount with the dish, what sateliites can I expect to be able to recieve (of good signal strength/quality)?

What LNB's should I buy? The Inverto Black (pro?) get a good write up, but will they fit? or do I have to use ALP's (all terminology and opinions are strictly what I gleaned from the web and forums).

Do I need any switchgear local to the Dish to enable a single cable run or would I have to run 4 cables to the house?

My dish will be approximately 50M from the receiver and be buried (I want to use a good spec cable - budget up to £100).

I'll probably have to source a French Installer, but knowing France I may have to purchase a few specific items myself in order to get the system I want (and hopefully you'll help specify).

kind regards
Granty
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
BSkyB and UK Free to Air is from Astra 2/Eurobird @ 28.2/28.5E.

As you intend to use a French Installer, you will need to be very precise indeed over your Instructions: DO NOT just say you want Astra, for example, as it will be assumed you mean Astra 1 at 19.2E >>>>> All well and good if you like German Channels, but not likely to impress the wife!

Whether you need narrow LNBs like Alps depends upon how closely your desired Satellite positions are spaced.

As for switches, if you use four single LNBs, then you will need a 4 way DiSEqC switch - the feeds from each LNB go into this (place it close to the dish) and a single cable then goes to your receiver. The correct LNB is selected by virtue of allocating Ports in the Receiver's DiSEqC menu.

Finally, I'd be inclined to bury the cable, not the dish .................... !!!!
 

Granty666

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
Yet to be purchased, but will include Gilbertini 1.25 Antenna (fixed) with 3 or 4 LNB's Inverto or similar - This is where I need the advice. system will be in 65700 Haute Pyrenees SW France.
Pole mounted at ground level with clear field of sight a
My Location
67500 Haute Pyrenees, France
Triping is also bad - told you I was a newbie :-ohcrap
 

Granty666

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
Yet to be purchased, but will include Gilbertini 1.25 Antenna (fixed) with 3 or 4 LNB's Inverto or similar - This is where I need the advice. system will be in 65700 Haute Pyrenees SW France.
Pole mounted at ground level with clear field of sight a
My Location
67500 Haute Pyrenees, France
So we've now established that:

The cable shall be buried, not the dish
That Sky and UK FTA is on Astra 2/Eurobird @ 28.2/28.5E
I need a 4 way DiSEqC switch to use four individual LNB's

Can anyone suggest addition satellite with English (or French) programming that we could pick up using 3 additional LNB's, using Astra 2/Eurobird @ 28.2/28.5E as the prime Satellite feed?
Additionally If you could recomment LNB's if the spacings are tight (where the Inverto will not go)?

regards Granty
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,500
Reaction score
3,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Can I reinforce what Tivu says about being very specific about about astra 2 at 28E. Even when you say what you want they'll STILL sometimes set it up to 19E. Beware of an installer who seems overly confident in this matter especially if they brush aside your concerns.

As it stands at the moment (but see later...) a 1.25m dish is overkill for reception of 28E. A positive aspect of this is that multiple LNBs will be spaced further apart so the need for narrow ones is diminished.

It's the Inverto Black Ultra that's getting the good write-ups. The Black Pro is OK but don't be fobbed off with "it's just (or nearly) the same".

Now the see later bit. The Beeb and other FTA (free to air) channels are currently being transmitted on a satellite which is about to be replaced within the next couple of months. The current satellite (1N) was just temporary as the original satellite (2D) had reached the end of its life and its planned replacement wasn't ready. Well, now it is ready and is due to be launched in the next week or two. The problem is that this new satellite will almost certainly make life more difficult for reception outside of the planned reception area of the UK. In the near continent (northern France, belgium, etc) it'll probably be business as usual but as you get further away life will become more difficult. It's even possible that reception in the south of Spain might be impossible regardless of dish size.

What does this mean to you? Chances are that 1.25m will still be large enough BUT THERE'S NO GUARANTEE OF THAT. Sorry to shout but there is the chance that you may then have to go and buy a larger dish. I hope not as I am hoping that over in the Vaucluse 80cm will suffice but I'm prepared to go to 90cm if need be. I have a spare 1m dish in the UK and if absolutely necessary can go up to 1.8m.

If you haven't already bought the 1.25m dish I would advise you to wait a month or two until the dust settles and we know what's what. If the wife will let you, that is...
 

Chris76

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
334
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ duo with a 300gb hdd also dm500 and tecnomate 5200 with a 1m and 1.1m motorized dishes and minidish fixed to 28.2
My Location
Belfast
I agree with paul. Your going to be much better waiting for a short time and see what happens with the new beam. Also have a think of what other satellites you would like to receive if you do go for the gibi you spacing would be 20° either 10° either side from 28.2° or 20° either way. Most people go for 23.5-19.2 and 13°. Plenty to think about now. And finally if the builder is going to install the cable from the dish out just go ahead and get that done now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
And to add a point, run a twin cable from the dish to the house for Astra 28.2 if you want to use a Sky digibox, you will then be able to record one channel and watch another. Then run a single cable from the DiSEqC switch with the other satellites to the house as well.
 

Granty666

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
Yet to be purchased, but will include Gilbertini 1.25 Antenna (fixed) with 3 or 4 LNB's Inverto or similar - This is where I need the advice. system will be in 65700 Haute Pyrenees SW France.
Pole mounted at ground level with clear field of sight a
My Location
67500 Haute Pyrenees, France
Thanks, for the heads up on the new satellite and other info - I'll def hold off untill it's up and transmitting
 

pgh13

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
409
Points
83
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
My Location
Midlands UK
rolfw said:
And to add a point, run a twin cable from the dish to the house for Astra 28.2 if you want to use a Sky digibox, you will then be able to record one channel and watch another. Then run a single cable from the DiSEqC switch with the other satellites to the house as well.
While on that subject, will all your viewing be in the one room? If you think you may want another receiver elsewhere in the house it could be worth sticking in another couple of cables while there's a hole in the ground.
 
Top