Advice Needed help with 5 x 20 multiswitch

nadal liu

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
120cm offset dishes for 124e and 128e with emp centauri profi multiswitch 9x16, and 5x20
,180cm prime dish with lo 10678 ku lnb for 110e bs/cs
My Location
Hong Kong
I ordered an emp centauri powerline 5 x 20 multiswitch.
It is in transit.
I want to make sure it will work with my set up.
I want to receive 124e and 128e, both have two polarities and in hi band only.
I want to use two two-output single local oscillator lnbf.
I will connect the two output from each lnbf to the four input on the multiswitch.
Will it work?
I am afraid because the four input are hi/lo x h/v.
With lo 22k off, can I receive hi band signal?

Thanks.
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
779
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
I ordered an emp centauri powerline 5 x 20 multiswitch.
It is in transit.
I want to make sure it will work with my set up.
I want to receive 124e and 128e, both have two polarities and in hi band only.
I want to use two two-output single local oscillator lnbf.
I will connect the two output from each lnbf to the four input on the multiswitch.
Will it work?
I am afraid because the four input are hi/lo x h/v.
With lo 22k off, can I receive hi band signal?
You need quattros with a multiswitch. Unless something has escaped me you'd have no way of telling each twin LNB either polarity or band, so they'd just stay on the default. I stand open to correction!
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
I've given it some though tand I don't think that youll be able to get it to work even allowing for the fact that you're only interested in high band. What you really need is a 9 x 20 multiswitch. If you only want high band then you can connect to only 2 of the inputs of each of the 4 in on the multiswitch.

Most multiswitches require a Quattro LNB (2 needed for 2 satellites) but some can use ordinary Universal Quad LNBs. This type might be able to use your existing LNBs but I'm not 100% sure.
 

nadal liu

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
120cm offset dishes for 124e and 128e with emp centauri profi multiswitch 9x16, and 5x20
,180cm prime dish with lo 10678 ku lnb for 110e bs/cs
My Location
Hong Kong
Before this 5x20, I bought an empty century 9x16. I use it to receive 124e, 128e, 108.2e, 138e. 124,128 I have quad universal lnbf and use just 2 outputs on each lnbf. On emp, they take hi band h/v for diseq1 and 2.
138 has hi band only and v only. 108.2 is hi band and v, too. I bought 2 output single local oscillator for 138 108.2
The setup is 124,128 take hi band x h/v
And 138 goes to diseq1 lo/v
108.2 diseq2 lo/v

All were good
Therefore I want to ask.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
If you have Quattro LNBs for both 124E and 128E then you can obviously physically wire up only two of the inputs from each (the HV and HH) to the 5 x 20 multiswitch. The problem comes with reception of the satellite that is connected to the LV and LH inputs. How does the satellite receiver "know" that these two exist?

I suppose that it might be possible if you are able to write your own satellite frequency table to the receiver(s) but that might take a lot of time and still not work. If you DO try this please let us know if you are successful.

EDIT

Changed LNB from Quad to Quattro to correct error.
 
Last edited:

nadal liu

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
120cm offset dishes for 124e and 128e with emp centauri profi multiswitch 9x16, and 5x20
,180cm prime dish with lo 10678 ku lnb for 110e bs/cs
My Location
Hong Kong
I didn't make my situation clear I think.
Now I have two quad, well, actually octo universal lnb for 124e and 128e.
I use it with emp centauri 9x16 by connecting two outputs from each lnb to emp centauri's h/h,h/v on diseq 1 and 2 respectively.
In the receiver, luckily, I can select 22k on or off, and use local oscillator of 10600, and set diseq 1 or 2 for 124e or 128e.
It works.
I am even able to add two single output 11300 local oscillator lnb to catch 138e and 108.2e, which has only vertical polarity and hi band.
I connect 138e and 108.2e to lo(22k off) on diseq 1 and 2.
In the receiver, I set up 22k off, local oscillator 11300, and diseq 1 or 2 respectively.
All good.

Having this successful setting, I decided to buy emp centauri 5x20, in the hope to provide service to more receiver just for 124e and 128e using the same quad lnb.
I then realized that 5x24 has just 22k on off and h/v.
With my octo universal lnb, I am not sure if I can set 22k off and use local oscillator of 10600 for hi band, which seems contradictory.
Recalling the setting for 138e and 108.2e, I think I can use quad output single oscillator lnb for the 5x24 multiswitch and for 9x16 multiswitch with similar setting as 138e and 108.2e.


Here I am to ask for opinions on this.

I will let you know if it works or not.

Thank you for you reply.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
I can't see how it would work as the 5 x 20 multiswitch would not have Diseqc as it is designed only for a single satellite.

Apart from when you added on the extra feeds from 138E and 108.2E you were using the 9 x 16 exactly as intended to combine two satellite feeds for Diseqc switching. You may have manually overidden the 22KHz switching and LO frequency but I strongly suspect that if you hadn't it would still have worked as the EMP Centauri multiswitches support both Quad and Quattro LNBs in the manner I said in my first post.
 

nadal liu

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
120cm offset dishes for 124e and 128e with emp centauri profi multiswitch 9x16, and 5x20
,180cm prime dish with lo 10678 ku lnb for 110e bs/cs
My Location
Hong Kong
The idea was that specifying 22k on and local oscillator 10600 would force the receiver to work on that setting. So, ideally the receiver would only take the input from the diesq 1, hi band for 124e and diseq 2 ,hi band for 128e, for example. I can then specify 22k off and local oscillator of 11300 for 138e and 108.2e. Thus, instead of the normal setup where a 9 input multiswitch would work with 2 satellite system(with quattro lnb and each satellite has hi and low band, v, and h), I can allow up to 8 satellites (each satellite can have hi or low band only and one polarity only, 2 x 2 x 2, or diesq x h/v x hi/lo)


Since I can have up to 8 satellites on 9 input multiswitch, it then leads me to the idea that one ought to have up to 4 satellite on a 5 input multiswitch, in my case I have 2 satellite each with both h and v signal. But since 5 input does not have diseq as you mentioned, I then consider the possibility that using a single local oscillator lnb(113000 like I mentioned for a 5 input multiswitch. I can then use the same setting, local oscillator 11300, hi band(22k on) for 124e and local oscillator 11300, low band(22k off) for 128e. That, if all goes well, should allow 2 satellites with hi band only and v and h polarities.

I hope I make my point understandable.
 
Last edited:

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Understandable, just about, but I still think that you'll get tripped up. There may be only four satellites but two of them have V and H polarities. That makes six options and I don't think that you'll be able to accomodate that on a five input multiswitch especially without Diseqc.

I think that you're trying to simplify it too much. But it's one of those things that you won't know until you try it I suppose.
 

nadal liu

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
120cm offset dishes for 124e and 128e with emp centauri profi multiswitch 9x16, and 5x20
,180cm prime dish with lo 10678 ku lnb for 110e bs/cs
My Location
Hong Kong
I see your point, as one can not specify the receiver to take h/v signal only. There is simply no that setting in the receiver.
I would like to make correction on my above post.
I would be able to allow 4 satellites on 9 input multiswitch, provided that each satellite has hi or low band and both h/v signal.
In my case, I should have 124e, 128e, 138e, and 108.2e for both h/v polarities.
So I would connect two outputs from each of the four lnbs to the multisiwtch, saying 124e on diesq 1, hi band, 128e on diseq 1, hi band, 138e on diseq 1, lo band, and 108.2e on diseq 2, lo band.

With 5 input multiswitch, one would alow up to 2 satellites provided that they have only one band, either hi or lo and both h/v polarities.

Sorry about the mistake I made.
 

nadal liu

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
3
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
120cm offset dishes for 124e and 128e with emp centauri profi multiswitch 9x16, and 5x20
,180cm prime dish with lo 10678 ku lnb for 110e bs/cs
My Location
Hong Kong
Just to update on the thread.
The 5x20 emp has arrived a while ago.
I have set it up on my system with two quad single local oscillator 11300 lnbf (only use two of the outputs) and it works flawlessly.

To sum up, in europe where you have hi band, low band, horizontal and vertical signal of a ku satellite, use of a universal lnb with a multiswitch is required.
Also, for one satellite multi receivers, one need a 5 input multiswitch (one for terrestrial)

In asia where I come from, where we have only hi band of a ku satellite, for satellite with both horizontal and vertical signal, we need 2 input multiswitch for one satellite, 4 input for two satellites, and 8 input for 4 satellites.

The above is provided one can set it up in his receiver of course.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Thank you for that. It reminds me of the situation some years ago in analogue days where one of the satellites (TDF1/2 at 19W I think) used for French channels used only one polarity.
 
Top