Highest Quality Channels?

rage99

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
61
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Echostar AD-3000IP
Infinity USB Phoenix
T-Rex Supermodule 4.6
50" Pioneer Plasma HD
My Location
West Midlands
I am good with satellites but i can only see Premiere channels that are of brilliant quality.

So could anybody point me to some channels which are of good quality ( very good quality ) i donot currently have a HD box but i do have a HD tv & even the non hd channels look superb,

I understand some of the German Channels are filmed in amazing quality.

So please could somebody give me channel names from 42east to 30west.

Thanks Guys

:)
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Check out _http://www.lyngsat.com or _http://www.flysat.com :)
 

Likvid

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
50
My Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Sky Italia is on the same level of quality as Premiere.

Both are the top providers, the rest is crap in my opinion, Sky UK is the worst that belong in the same league as the Hungarian, Greek packages like UPC and Nova.
 

rage99

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
61
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Echostar AD-3000IP
Infinity USB Phoenix
T-Rex Supermodule 4.6
50" Pioneer Plasma HD
My Location
West Midlands
Yes thanks for replies but i know about lyngsat / flysat etc but i just want to know of some high quality channels.

BTW me not intends to get Sky Italia even though it is a good pack i will stick with my T-Rex,
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The highest bitrate channels are probably the SRG channels on 13E. SRG recently hired a second tp specifically to allow them to crank up the bit rates of their chasnnels.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Just had a look at the bitratyes for SRG. They are running at around 6300kbps.
 

PoloMint

Super Minty Mod
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
1,588
Reaction score
1
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
1200cc with 100,000,000,000 neurons and 100,000,000,000,000 connections
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Thats the same as a lot of DVDs, in fact better than many!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
In comparison Premiere is running at around 3000kbps atm on Premiere 1
 
R

Rd100

Guest
I know you did not say HD but when i connected one of my sky HD receivers up to my old sony crt wide screen the otherday to see what HD downconveted via scart was like and it was OUT OF THIS WORLD bbc hd and discovery hd was outstanding via scart rgb and even old films like commando on sky movies 10HD on a SD crt was 100x better than the normal sky movies 10SD channel
 

Likvid

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
1,752
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
50
My Location
Stockholm, Sweden
It's not just what bitrate that decides how good the quality is.

The resolution is very important, PAL broadcasts at 720x576, but Premiere is using the full resolution 720x576 and others like Sky UK use only 544x576.

As soon as they go below 700x576 the picture gets blurry.
 

rage99

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
61
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Echostar AD-3000IP
Infinity USB Phoenix
T-Rex Supermodule 4.6
50" Pioneer Plasma HD
My Location
West Midlands
Thanks for the comments guys. where can i see what bitrate / resolution the channels are?
Thanks
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
you cant on your Echo - Im using a dreambox with a bitrate plug in on it - and it displays the frame rate too..
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
digital+ channels look great for me but i'm using a 21" sony tv for my satellite viewing small i know but will do
 
Top