How to Change a 2200uF Capacitor to 6800uF

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
A friend sent me this picture.
Apparently this is a Rubicon 2200uF electrolytic capacitor disguised as 6800uF.
 

Attachments

  • Aluminum Capacitor.jpg
    Aluminum Capacitor.jpg
    53.4 KB · Views: 86

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
:-rofl2

Crazy, why would someone want to do that.
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
Because the price of a bigger capacitor is more expensive.
 

PoloMint

Super Minty Mod
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
1,588
Reaction score
1
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
1200cc with 100,000,000,000 neurons and 100,000,000,000,000 connections
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Crazy, wouldn't you have to sell thousands of the fake ones to make any worthwhile profit?

I suppose it's not something people generally think of as being faked so maybe they are quite easy to sell.
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
PoloMint said:
Crazy, wouldn't you have to sell thousands of the fake ones to make any worthwhile profit?

I suppose it's not something people generally think of as being faked so maybe they are quite easy to sell.

The info came with a note "made in China".
I can't confirm this so I didn't mention it in my first post as it would be unjust accusation if this isn't true.
These capacitors are used usually in power supplies and if an OEM orders thousands of them, then their PS would not work as intended and there will be major losses for the company as a result of making another order and buying an exact part that is needed and then do a rework to replace them.
If they are wise, then they should have invested in what is called "Parts Incoming Inspection". Even on a sampling basis, they would have an alarming value difference from the one needed.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,512
Reaction score
3,797
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
I am sorry I cannot get my head round this, the componants are so mass produced that the production costs are measured in thousands per penny. You would have to sell millions to stand a chance of making money and your reputation would be mud before you did make any money. I personally think this is an urban myth since most production units do batch sampling and apart from anything else the QC department would be shouting before you had done 12 hours production since the unit would not perform to design parameters.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,650
Reaction score
7,153
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Its voltage rating has also gone up from 35 to 50V.
 
Top