how to use sun or compass for true south

remlap

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Messages
2,210
Likes
832
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
#1
How is it possable to find true south useing the sun postion is it at 12 o'clock British summer time or 1 o'clock ? Also can someone explain how to use a magnetic compass to find true south takeing into account magnetic devation from a given loaction in the UK.
 
B

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Messages
1,016
Likes
41
#2
A compass is accurate to about 3° at the moment for most of the UK.

Unless you have a very expensive compass that's within the accuracy of the compass and the ability to line up your dish with the compass.
 
S

Satslut

Dumb Satellite Babe
Messages
123
Likes
0
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5500CIP
Force 1145S
Pace 2600
SS2 pci & USB
Channel master 1.8m
1.2m & HH motor
AMD 64 bit, Linux & Windows XP2
My Location
Ibiza, Spain
#3
H

Happy-Buddah

Guest
#4
Magnetic north is somewhere in canada at the present time. Hence the three british ladies racing to be the first female team to reach it.

The sun is due south, in the UK at 12 noon GMT (1pm BST) if you are on the zero meridian. For each degree off of that the sun appears to have moved 4 minutes in time.
ie, I'm at 1*east so my due south is 11.56GMT or 12.56BST. For some one in Poole, 2*west, the sun would be due south at 12.08GMT (13.08BST). For someone in Fishguard, 6*west, the sun would be due south at 12.24GMT (13.24BST) etc etc. The above applies to the UK, where we have one time zone.
H-B
 
T

transpetaflops

Member
Messages
26
Likes
0
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7020S with rotor and official Canal Digital Family package,
Asustek DVB-T for FTA terrestrial channels
My Location
Sweden
#5
L

Low Profile

Regular Member
Messages
364
Likes
0
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, DM7000 80GB HD with Asus WL330 wifi + 2GB usb drive, Skystar2.3, 2.2m Kinhuge Dish with Inverto LNB and Invacom ADF-120 feedhorn. Pace 1.3.25 and 80cm for Sky.
My Location
Lot, Dordogne, Correze border.
#6
Point the hour hand at the sun (use a vertical stick or object to cast a shadow if you have difficulty), split the angle between the hour hand and the 12 oclock position to give a north / south line.
I've used this method to help in setting up satellite dishes all over Europe - from Norway to Portugal without a compass.
 
H

Happy-Buddah

Guest
#7
Useing the sun at noon (GMT) is a close enough approximation and starting point. Agreed that "the equation of time" will make a difference, at a minimum on 16th April and maximum on 5th May (at this time of the year) but as stated above "it's a starting point and we all have had to tweak our dishes for maximum signal strength.

H-B
 
Top