Hungary - Sky plus

sdavies182

Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
Pace Sky plus box with 93 cm dish
My Location
Hungary
I have taken a Pace Sky plus box over to a holiday home in Hungary and have problems picking up BBC 1, BBC 2 and ITV
Can receive Ch4 and Ch 5 plus Sky Sports ( on subscription ), Sky news and BBC News 24

Have Dual LNB ( BS1R8EL200A) with 93cm dish
Freq 11.778
Pol V
Symbol rate 27.55
FEC 2/3

Signal strength from set up menu is 10 to 15% Quality of signal is 80%

Local Sat company provided dish and did install - tried tweaking dish position but still unable to obtain BBC1, 2 and ITV

I will have issues up sizing Sat dish as on side of bungalow
any ideas please ?

Steve
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,515
Reaction score
3,797
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Welcome to the forum sdavies182

You are lucky to be getting what you are with such a small dish... unfortunately in this case bigger is better
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,974
Reaction score
9,769
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
93 cm dish - far too tiddly :-rofl2

Vertical tp's are available on 1.8m dishes in parts of Hungary. The Horizontals are not available even on 3m dishes in the Budapest area.


_http://www.astra2d.com/hungary.htm
 

sdavies182

Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
Pace Sky plus box with 93 cm dish
My Location
Hungary
Thanks for the advice

being technical from my mother's side of the family why can I get some channels and not others when essentially they are being beamed from the same Sat ?
I would have thought it would have been a case of all or nothing
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,974
Reaction score
9,769
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
In exreme fringe conditions strange things happen - there will be minute power fluctuations between different transponders and tiny imperfections in the dish array up on the satellies. None of this makes the slightest difference to north western Europe but can affect the extreme fringe viewers.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,467
Reaction score
3,574
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
And don't forget that it's not one satellite, there're 4 up there transmiting (plus a fifth waiting to go). The 2A and 2B satellites have north and south beams, Eurobird has fixed and steerable beams and 2D is just damned tight in its beam. Then there is the variation between the horizontal and vertical polarities.

Is it any wonder it's all so variable?
 

teganjade

Member
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
sky thompson
My Location
hungary
sdavies182 said:
I have taken a Pace Sky plus box over to a holiday home in Hungary and have problems picking up BBC 1, BBC 2 and ITV
Can receive Ch4 and Ch 5 plus Sky Sports ( on subscription ), Sky news and BBC News 24

Have Dual LNB ( BS1R8EL200A) with 93cm dish
Freq 11.778
Pol V
Symbol rate 27.55
FEC 2/3

Signal strength from set up menu is 10 to 15% Quality of signal is 80%

Local Sat company provided dish and did install - tried tweaking dish position but still unable to obtain BBC1, 2 and ITV

I will have issues up sizing Sat dish as on side of bungalow
any ideas please ?

Steve

Hi yes you cann get itv chanel 4 & 5 also film 4 this is what you must do PRESS SERVICES THEN NUMBER 4 THEN NUMBER 4 AGAIN NOW ALTER YOUR TOP NUMBER TO 12402 THEN FIND NEW CHANELS SELECT ITV THEN SELECT THEN SERVICES GTHEN NUMBER 7 THEN ITV SELECT FOR CHANEL 4 12480 AND THE SAME IF YOU HAVE PROBLEM
we are in mekenyes where are you
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Movable 1 metre satellite dish, internet via satellite also (local mobile phone company)
My Location
Hungary, Lake Balaton (west end of)
Hi, we can get ITV, Channel 4, Channel 4 +1. Five, Five USA and Fiver. Is it possible to get Film4 and, if so, does anyone know what frequency, polarisation, symbol rate and FEC do I need to input when using the services menu on my skybox with freeview?

Also, is there any chance of getting ITV2, ITV3 or ITV4 or any other similar channels here?

Thanks to all

Steve
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,515
Reaction score
3,797
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Film 4 is part of the Freesat package but it is on Astra 2D so perhaps not receivable on a 1mtr dish in Hungary

10714 H tp 41 22000-5/6
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,974
Reaction score
9,769
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
SteveInHungary said:
Also, is there any chance of getting ITV2, ITV3 or ITV4 or any other similar channels here?

Thanks to all

Steve

Not without putting up a very big dish indeed.
 
Top