Indoor satellite dish

snaffles

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
SilverCrest SL 65
My Location
Ireland
Hello.

I would like to install a FTV satellite for a relative, but mounting a dish on her house is not an option.

I am contemplating buying a mini satellite system from ALDI, the type you stand on a table.

My real question is this ....

"Would this dish work from behind a sheet of clear glass?"
..... OR .....
"Does the window have to be open for it to work?"

Also, If it does work behind glass - would a layer of lace curtain also be ok ?

Many thanks in advance to anybody who can answer this for me.


[P.S.]
I realise that this may be a silly question to ask, but I'm fairly new to satellites.
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Hi, yes, a dish can work through glass, it depends what coatings the glass has on it.

Also you need to have a clear view of the satellite through the window.

For mostly English channels, you need a view of the sats at 28E.

There may be a bit of attenuation through the glass, so a really small dish may not be adequate.

I don't believe a bit of lace curtain would affect the signal at all, but I'm ready to be corrected on that one.:-rofl2

Robbo:)
 

snaffles

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
SilverCrest SL 65
My Location
Ireland
Sweeeet !!!

Thanks Robbo71.

I suspected that it would be ok, but wanted to check it out before I bought it.

The one I'm looking at is roughly 60 - 70 cm (not certain on that yet).

Thank you again for such a speedy reply.

snaffles :-)
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Should be OK then, as long as there is not special glass. Quite large for a table though, where's she going to eat her dinner?:-rofl2
 

johnwilliam1

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2005
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
technomate 1500
strong 4375
pace digi box
triax 1.1, triax 88cm
My Location
UK.
snaffles said:
Hello.

I would like to install a FTV satellite for a relative, but mounting a dish on her house is not an option.

I am contemplating buying a mini satellite system from ALDI, the type you stand on a table.

My real question is this ....

"Would this dish work from behind a sheet of clear glass?"
..... OR .....
"Does the window have to be open for it to work?"

Also, If it does work behind glass - would a layer of lace curtain also be ok ?

Many thanks in advance to anybody who can answer this for me.


[P.S.]
I realise that this may be a silly question to ask, but I'm fairly new to satellites.

i use a 88cm triax with a 6ft stand and yes its easy realy and thats through double glazing as well, i can get 28e be it from an angle and thats the problem, but its easier for me to get 19e 13e 1w 5w and at this moment its on turk 42e and i get roughly 40 odd channels, net curtains not a problem and even if you drew the curtains on the strong sats it hardly makes any difference. Possibly wether its 28e, 19e, 13e,
you might be able to use a smaller dish all depends where you are at, my location is hartlepool north east, if you are down south you should get a better signal
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
I can confirm 100% that lace curtains and even most normal curtains allow satellite signals through, even chucking a fleece jacket over one wouldn't affect it (as they're essentially plastic!!!)... :)

As mentioned, if you have any additives in the glass, it may not work or will work poorly, but if it's plain glass (single or double glazing) it will work. If it doesn't you could swap the glass with a sheet or two of perspex (As long as SWMBO agrees or doesn't know!!!;))... :)
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,511
Reaction score
3,797
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
2cvbloke said:
I can confirm 100% that lace curtains and even most normal curtains allow satellite signals through,

Neither will very well if they are at all damp from condensation though;)
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Topper said:
Neither will very well if they are at all damp from condensation though;)

True, if it's in a damp house... ;)
 

snaffles

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
SilverCrest SL 65
My Location
Ireland
Great to hear all that information

:-)


I know that it's got a perfect line of sight to 28E,
which is the one she wants.

As far as I know, there's no special coating on the glass,
So it looks like good news all the way.
 

snaffles

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
SilverCrest SL 65
My Location
Ireland
Topper said:
Neither will very well if they are at all damp from condensation though;)

This shouldn't be a problem - the window's got ventilation slots in it,
and there's no evidence of dampness :)


.... Also,


2cvbloke said:
I can confirm 100% that lace curtains and even most normal curtains allow satellite signals through, even chucking a fleece jacket over one wouldn't affect it (as they're essentially plastic!!!)... :)


She will also be delighted to hear this, as she's in need of more coat hangers :-rofl2


Thanks again, for all your help.

:-worship:-worship:-worship:-worship:-worship:-worship:-worship:-worship
 
Top