IP Addresses

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Does anyone know the IP addresses etc to use on the Dreambox and PC?
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,502
Reaction score
3,793
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Welcome to the forum LEENO

I have moved your post as your question has nothing to do with the the thread you posted on.

The local range of IP addresses are used i.e 192.169.xx.xx

All this is explained in the Idiots Guide if you would care to read it
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Welcome to the forum :)

Have you had a read through The Guide (FAQ section)?

The Dreambox and PC would normally be on the same IP range as the LAN IP address of your router.

If your router is 10.0.0.2 then they might be 10.0.0.3 and 10.0.0.4; if your router is 192.168.0.1 then they might be 192.168.0.10 and 192.168.0.11 (for example).

How good are your PC/ networking skills?
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Hi guys, cheers for the welcome.

Had a read through the idiots guide, got some usefull info.

I have a little bit of experience with Dbox2. Can send info and images with Flash FXP.

I got given a Dreambox to have a play with.

Problem I'm having is I don't have a router.

So been trying to do it the same way as I do the Dbox.

Cross over from back of PC to Dreambox. Got password of dreambox in Flashfxp but not sure what the dreambox and PC IP Adresses should be.
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
They should be as described for a router - either on a 10.0.0.n range or 192.168.0.n range. The actual IP doesn't matter.

e.g set the PC LAN IP address to 10.0.0.10 and the Dreambox IP address to 10.0.0.11

Set the Gateway as 10.0.0.10- instructions are in The Guide.

I've no experience with either a DBOX or using a crossover cable in this way.
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Cool i'll give it a bash tomorrow. Cheers
 

dig deep

Prince of Birthdays
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
8,262
Reaction score
386
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
Dream7020 and AZ Elite and a few DM800
My Location
Sweden
If You are planning to go online with the box I would suggest that U get a router. Makes everything easier:)
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Can't get them networked :(

"On the computer side: Sardo Sardo made a valid point in a recent message: "...in modem connection right mouse clik-property-advanced in internet connection sharing press ok in allow other network user to connect trough this computer's internet connection.I had the same problem but now it's ok." Can't argue with that!!"

Didn't really understand that from the guide.
 

pgh13

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
409
Points
83
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
My Location
Midlands UK
If you have a PC which is connecting to the interent via modem, you can make that connection available to other devices that are on the same network. So you could for example have 2 computers connected by a cross over cable (or through a hub) and both would use the modem in the one PC
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Setting up connection sharing (ICS) is not top of the agenda.

You need to assign LAN IP addresses to your PC and Dreambox. It shows you in The Guide how to do it for a Dreambox.

Does your PC have a network card? What O/S are you running - XP?

It'll be something like:

START > settings > Network connections > local area connection


Select TCP/IP > Properties

Now fill in:

IP ADDRESS : 10.0.0.10

Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway: 10.0.0.10

BUT you use a modem so I'm not sure how the gateway will work. Google "Internet Connection Sharing".
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
pgh13 said:
If you have a PC which is connecting to the interent via modem, you can make that connection available to other devices that are on the same network. So you could for example have 2 computers connected by a cross over cable (or through a hub) and both would use the modem in the one PC

I mean I can't find this setting.

Mhku - Yes I have network Card and on XP

I have tried lots of different settings in TCP/IP > Properties but not changed the gateway. Maybe this is where I'm going wrong.

I'll have another go tonight as I'm at work.

Its all new to me but i've learnt alot over the last few days.
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
_http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306126

If you get stuck Google will be your best bet for setting up ICS.

_http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp_ics/
_http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp_ics/internetgateway.htm
_http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/connectionmethods/windowsics.htm
(your Dreambox will take the part of the xbox)
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Thanks mate i'll have a beaver tonight !
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Reading into this a bit its startin to go a bit out of my league I think.

I thought u could just attatch the box straight to PC NIC card with a crossover cable like I do with the Dbox but reading into them websites has just completely lost me!
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
I've just read the Microsoft one and it's straightforward.

Host PC = PC
Client PC = Dreambox. You will use the IP address shown but it is set as per The Guide instructions.

Yes do connect them using a crossover cable.

It's easier "doing it" than reading it.
 

langstone

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
83
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7000 (& 500s)
20G Hd/512 Usb,
Gemini 4.20 & Mgcamd 1.27,
Belkin router hard wired,
Dreambox Keyboard,
Dual Boot XP/Ubuntu
My Location
UK
I connected my 500s to a PC running XP using a crossover cable successfully recently.
Be sure to tick the DHCP box in the Communication Setting of the Dreambox and reboot the Dreambox.
In my case, the Dreambox then found the correct IP address and I was able to go on line using the Blue Button.

It's worth a try.
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Stuck at the 1st hurdle!

"To use Internet Connection Sharing to share your Internet connection, the host computer must have one network adapter that is configured to connect to the internal network, and one network adapter or modem that is configured to connect to the Internet."

I only have 1 connection !
 

LEENO

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
Dbox2 & Dreambox
My Location
Cambridge
Hi guys,

Been havin a right nightmare trying to send info over from PC to Dreambox to fix it since this key change au thing. Been trying to use Flash FXP via the back on my PC straight to the Dreambox using a crossover cable.

Had no problem with my Dbox but can't connect with Dreambox.

Is there a way to fix this just using the remote or can you suggest another way?

I don't have a router.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,079
Reaction score
1,454
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
On your PC, find out the ip address and Subnet, do this by pressing the run button and typing cmd, then type ipconfig.

View attachment 15716

Then make sure that the Dreambox is in the same subnet and has an ip in the same range as the PC.
 

Attachments

  • subnet.jpg
    subnet.jpg
    12.9 KB · Views: 21

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
You only have a modem and no network card?

The phone line connects to the modem. The crossover cable plugs into a network card (NIC).
 
Top