IS 5 west easy to get on 80 cm dish in Surrey?

chucklebezza

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
91
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
39east and 19e when I want to see F1, using a tm1500ci
My Location
surrey
I see from a listings site that Chelsea v QPR is FTA on ORTB on 5 west. I live in Surrey, what chance do I have of getting this with an 80cm dish? Cheers.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Yes.

For the Ku Band version of ORTB, even a 40cm dish would do.

There is also a C Band manifestation of ORTB but you'd need around 1.5m dish and a different LNB.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Simple answer is yes....80cm is more than ample....
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Think you'll find ORTB is Ku band...

1_0_1_E_526C_55E_DDE0000_0_0_0.jpg
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Yep, just found it also has a Ku Band Version. Sorry!

Reply now Edited in the hope of preventing confusion ................... but I see I failed in that respect too!
 

chucklebezza

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
91
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
39east and 19e when I want to see F1, using a tm1500ci
My Location
surrey
Thanks for all replies but what is C band? I should know by now but I dont!
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
To be fair G, it's on both C and Ku....
 

chucklebezza

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
91
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
39east and 19e when I want to see F1, using a tm1500ci
My Location
surrey
OK, in that case what is Ku band? I should know by now but I dont!
 

chucklebezza

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
91
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
39east and 19e when I want to see F1, using a tm1500ci
My Location
surrey
Do I need a special system for Ku band? All Ive got is my reliable, old, and much loved TM1500ci
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I shall go boil my head :D

Ku Band is what you want as that's yer mainstream Digital Satellite viewing for densely populated regions.

Ku Band is what your kit gets.

Forget C Band! I know I have.
 

chucklebezza

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
91
Reaction score
3
Points
8
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
39east and 19e when I want to see F1, using a tm1500ci
My Location
surrey
Thanks Tivu. So, on lovely Jublees it say ORTB is on 12690v 27500 so I assume this is the one I want and not the other one?
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Yes, yes, yes!

Only trouble is, sometimes these reports about FTA transmissions prove to be a tad optimistic, but fingers crossed.
 
Top