Is My New Motor Broken ???

OLL1998

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
PC TWINHAM DVB-S WITH CAM CARD. RECEIVING ASTRA 23.5 EAST FOR HD-1 / EURO 1080
My Location
SOUTH WALES, BRIDGEND
Hi,

Just spent all day setting up my new motor system.

I have finaly found THOR as a ref sat. Good signal and cal tune in to lots of interesting streams...

Problem. My Moto will function by manually pressing the buttons on the unit - so the motor is actualy ok, but I can not drive it in any way at all from my software.... I am using Digital TV from TwinHan Mantis card and also Alt DVB. Drive Motor , Go To Zero , nothing at all will make the motor turn.....

any I deas would be great.

Thanks,

Oll
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Have moved this to the PC card section Oll, as this sounds like a driver problem. :)
 

OLL1998

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
PC TWINHAM DVB-S WITH CAM CARD. RECEIVING ASTRA 23.5 EAST FOR HD-1 / EURO 1080
My Location
SOUTH WALES, BRIDGEND
Thanks,

I am using Windows XP SP2, Pentium 4 3ghz, AsRok board......
Latest TwinHan Mantis Drivers.

I am going to install Linux UBUNTU on a new partition and give its drivers a go!


Oll
 

OLL1998

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
PC TWINHAM DVB-S WITH CAM CARD. RECEIVING ASTRA 23.5 EAST FOR HD-1 / EURO 1080
My Location
SOUTH WALES, BRIDGEND
MORE INFORMATION FOR YOU............

I have a TwinHan DVB-S CI PCI Card AD-SP300 (1034) running on XP and the very latest card drivers.. I just can not get the motor to turn.

So do you think this is a software problem ?

Are there any alternative drivers for the Twinhan Mantis DVB-S CI PCI Card AD-SP300 (1034) I could try ?

Should I go back to Windows 2000 ?

Thanks Oll
 

Park Royal

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
364
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
Smart lnb, 1m Gibby dish, Stab motor, TM5200D receiver, 57east to 61west. DTT from Sudbury. Virgin Media broadband.
My Location
So called capital of Suffolk, UK.
Dunno about your system. But with a box and motor, your have to input your latitude and longitude and save the location of the satellites you want to track. You need to do that so the motor and receiver can interface and carry out the necessary comands to move the dish to the required position.
Parky
 

OLL1998

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
PC TWINHAM DVB-S WITH CAM CARD. RECEIVING ASTRA 23.5 EAST FOR HD-1 / EURO 1080
My Location
SOUTH WALES, BRIDGEND
thanks for that - but even if i had the wrong locations set up - I would have thought the motor would turn a bit ? -

Oll
 

OLL1998

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
PC TWINHAM DVB-S WITH CAM CARD. RECEIVING ASTRA 23.5 EAST FOR HD-1 / EURO 1080
My Location
SOUTH WALES, BRIDGEND
Hi.

I have reset my motor, so I take it all the built in sat positions have now gone.

Can you re program them back in ?

Thanks,

Oll
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
If you reset the motor, it will go to factory default, which should have the standard built in positions.

I still think this is a driver problem though, unfortunately I have no experience with the Twinhan cards.
 

OLL1998

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
PC TWINHAM DVB-S WITH CAM CARD. RECEIVING ASTRA 23.5 EAST FOR HD-1 / EURO 1080
My Location
SOUTH WALES, BRIDGEND
Hi,

Do you know of anybody here in the Bridgend area that could loan me receiver to test ?

Oll
 

OLL1998

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
PC TWINHAM DVB-S WITH CAM CARD. RECEIVING ASTRA 23.5 EAST FOR HD-1 / EURO 1080
My Location
SOUTH WALES, BRIDGEND
Just installed WMC 2005 and all is well !!!

Thanks to all for your help. Motor turning !!

Just a little question....

The motor is set to ZERO and at this point it is beaming in to THOR.
When I tell my software to go to THOR the dish turns a few degrees - and is off course, why would it move if ZERO is THOR ?

Oll
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Zero for you is not actually Thor, as Bridgend is 3.4 degrees West.

To align your dish perfectly, you should now send your dish to Thor, then swing the whole assembly o th mast and reajust the dish elevation to achieve the beast reception. :)
 
Top