Just how good is the ICECRYPT 3500HDCCI?

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Is it as sensitive as the technomate 5400 series? Is it prone to serious problems as i'm thinking of getting one.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Anyhow,i'm answering this question myself as i purchased one. The sensitivity is down very slightly (3-4 points on average) on the tm 3000d but this Linux kit has so much more going on. The menus are better with a useful exploded signal strength/quality screen when tuning in satellites. So far so good.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
How are you establishing and comparing Sensitivity, in a meaningful way?
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Only comparing the signal from the same dual lnb ,technomate on one lead ,icecrypt on the other.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Comparing it using the respective metering functions of the two boxes?

Doesn't mean much as they will have different metering characteristics anyway!

Generally speaking, those readings are no more than indicative.

A better empirical way to tell is to monitor relative performance on marginal Channels ie Pixellation vs Stable Lock vs No lock.

Even then, the comparison is not necessarily reliable as the tuner sensitivity vs. frequency plot will differ between boxes too.


Afterthought: Of course, to make any observations even more reliable, you'd need to swop the two feeds over and do any and all tests again!
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
To be fair i wasnt testing anyway, it was just an observation. The main point i'm getting across really is all channels are received as they were before with a slightly lower reading. It cant be that precise,i've repaired many radios in the past where a bit of retuning was required but one radio might still not be as good as another. I understand your point entirely.
 
Top