LNB with Terrestrial in

ShaneW

Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DSTV and FTA on IS 7 (KU).
Busy with 2.4m CBand (motorised).
Own a shop distributing satellite equipment (specialising in FTA)
My Location
South Africa
Hi guys,

I'm new on this forum and look forward to getting lots of great advice, and hopefuly sharing a bit of mine.

I'm looking at stocking some LNBs (C & KU) with terrestrial input, in my shop. It is something new here in SA, but I'm sure you guys have tried them before. What do they work like? any problems with them? are they popular?
I think its a great idea, just not too sure if I should even bother, if they gonna cause more hassles than anything else.

Thanks
 

irart

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
216
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Sky Freesat in UK,
Astra 1 ana/dig in UK
using Technomate -5000 DAPCI,
Astra 2 South Beam and Eurobird in Spain.
My Location
Cornwall, UK
Does anyone know what "terrestrial input" means?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
This is an LNB with a built in UHF/IF diplexer.

They did make an apperance a couple of years back in a couple of French and German online satellite shops, but haven't seen one for a while, they are probably of limited use, as not everyone wants to diplex their terrestrial and satellite feeds.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,644
Reaction score
7,153
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
My local dealer stocks them in Surrey.

They are an installers dream, as you can build the whole mast (dish/aerial/cabling) before taking it up the ladder, and simply connect the downlead once the alignment is finished.

Ideal for a single diplexed outlet, and for use with older Sky boxes in the home, but as Rolf says though, not everybody has diplexed plates in their house, and their use is limited when running to multiples without further equipment.
 

ShaneW

Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DSTV and FTA on IS 7 (KU).
Busy with 2.4m CBand (motorised).
Own a shop distributing satellite equipment (specialising in FTA)
My Location
South Africa
The beauty of this device is you can connect your VHF/UHF aerial straight into your LNB without having to run a seperate cable down for the terrestrial signal. (the cable will contain IF (L band) from the LNB and your VHF/UHF signal from your aerial).

You then use a special splitter inside to seperate the 2, one going to your satellite decoder, and the other to your TV RF in.

I was wondering how well they work though, Haven't seen the circuit diagram. was thinking that if your aerial picks up a signal in L-band from somewhere (very possible) like 1.8GHz cell signal, or anything in that band. Would it not get combined into the LNBs output and interfere with the signal?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
ShaneW said:
The beauty of this device is you can connect your VHF/UHF aerial straight into your LNB without having to run a seperate cable down for the terrestrial signal. (the cable will contain IF (L band) from the LNB and your VHF/UHF signal from your aerial).

You then use a special splitter inside to seperate the 2, one going to your satellite decoder, and the other to your TV RF in.

I was wondering how well they work though, Haven't seen the circuit diagram. was thinking that if your aerial picks up a signal in L-band from somewhere (very possible) like 1.8GHz cell signal, or anything in that band. Would it not get combined into the LNBs output and interfere with the signal?

It works because of good filtering between the bands
 

ShaneW

Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DSTV and FTA on IS 7 (KU).
Busy with 2.4m CBand (motorised).
Own a shop distributing satellite equipment (specialising in FTA)
My Location
South Africa
That makes sense....

Have you used it before?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
I haven't personally but works in the same way as a satellite multiswitch with an internal IF/UHF diplexer.
 
Top