men & motors Technical Fault ?

koansrc

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
315
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
CM 3.0m @ 28.2 w PACE
My Location
Athens-Greece
I can't seem to get m&m for the past few days. I'm getting there is a fault with this channel. Is there ?

Before I start another session of microtuning the dish, I thought it best to ask, as I find it strange that I can get all other usually "tricky" channels like Genesis and Euronews.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Its moved to Astra 2D - can you get the 2D channels?
 

koansrc

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
315
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
CM 3.0m @ 28.2 w PACE
My Location
Athens-Greece
That's bad news as I can't get 2D ( ... YET!! )

Is there any particular reason for the move ? Is it permanent ? Any more moves planned or that you know of ?

( Glad I asked at least )
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
No idea, and no idea. :D

Try adding channels using 12422H 27500 2/3.

M&M was still going on there a couple of days ago. (It will almost certainly go at some point, so dont get too attached to it!)
 

koansrc

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
315
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
CM 3.0m @ 28.2 w PACE
My Location
Athens-Greece
Yes tried that. I had noticed the freq in the lyngsat listings (it is still there) but that only adds the Five channels.

I'm reading other threads TRYING to figure out dish size for 2D here in Athens. It is confusing, as Malta seems to need larger dishes than Cyprus ...

It is a sad day today and to add insult to injury, every time I go to channel 4 I now have to give it my PIN even though I've turned off parental control ...
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The reception reports Ive seen suggest 3.5m isnt big enough in north western Greece, so something around 4-5m should do you!

As Ive pointed out on other threads strange things happen in extreme fringe reception areas - minute imperfections in the transmitting dish on the satellite can cause huge differences in received signal strength over a few dozen of miles ...
 

koansrc

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
315
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
CM 3.0m @ 28.2 w PACE
My Location
Athens-Greece

iceman

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2003
Messages
744
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
3.0m Motorised Channel Master + 4 fixed dish Amstrad_DRX890C
DM7020s,DM800se
UNOHM EP314 PROMAX TV Explorer
My Location
Kyrenia - NORTH CYPRUS
koansrc said:
4-5 meters is what I've "heard" too. However iceman got me thinking (again) in a post in another thread ( attemp to copy/paste: http://www.satellites.co.uk/satellite/sky-digital-uk-platform-astra-28-2e-fringe-reception-tech/93996-2-4m-cm-3m-prodelin.html#post585231 ) who has been watchin 2D in Cyprus (which is further away from the Uk) with 3.0m

Hi koansrc
Ideally,troublefree 2D reception requires a minimum 4.0m dish size in my part of Cyprus...as you can see from my post.i did state this by saying i receive 2D almost all day.
I do have some breakups early evening and early morning with 3.0m..
One other point i should have made was,although we receive 2D channels in Cyprus they are only Horizontal transponders...No one in Cyprus can receive Vertical transponders..
Going back to your original question re:Men&Motors..according to Lyngstat,this channel has been moved to Transponder 44 which is on 10758 Vertical..
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
koansrc said:
4-5 meters is what I've "heard" too. However iceman got me thinking (again) in a post in another thread ( attemp to copy/paste: http://www.satellites.co.uk/satellite/sky-digital-uk-platform-astra-28-2e-fringe-reception-tech/93996-2-4m-cm-3m-prodelin.html#post585231 ) who has been watchin 2D in Cyprus (which is further away from the Uk) with 3.0m

Doesnt matter if its further away - parts of Cyprus may just be in a favourable location - a "hot spot" if you like, whilst Athens looks like its in an unfavourable "cold spot"
 

snowman30

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
52
As i mentioned in a previous report a 2.4 cm is ok for nortwestern greece(VERIA) but only for horizontal freqs.
 

JTA

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
557
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
DM8000HD+DM7000S with PLi image, CCcam, movable dish 0.85 m, very happy indeed
My Location
Belgium
2.4 cm !
that must be a new world record :-)
 

Zorba

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
2,201
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
3m(28.2E),1.5m(19.2E.13E,10E),1m (4W ,7W)1m (?).diseqc 10,sky plus,VU+,telergy iptv.
Satlook nit colour + Horizon hdsm.
My Location
Limassol, Sunny Cyprus
Its called a micro dish:-rofl2 Hard to install.....without tweezers
 
Top